Chinese Take-Out Shrimp with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this - I was truly crazy about it!! My DH liked it, and my step son did not (And i left out the red peppers in hopes that he'd like it - so next time I'll make it with the red pepper flakes too :) I used 1tbsp canola and 1tbsp sesame oil, yum! I didn't have fish sauce, so I used clam juice. Other than that I followed the recipe, well less garlic but will use a bit more next time too. Yum -thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Wow wow, delicious does not describe this. Will be making again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Fixed as written and it was delish.....I think my garlic cloves were too small and I think I would add even more garlic. The red pepper flakes added the perfect amount of zip. Very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
WOW! If you are a garlic lover, a seafood lover, and like an asian inspired dish with some heat, STOP, you have found the perfect recipe! This was really delicious, I prepared exactly as written and just added some more veg, some shredded carrot and red pepper strips. Served over jasmine rice spiked with carrot and fine diced red peppers. Hubby raved over this. Thanks for a very delicious recipe, will keep this one in the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
WE loved this. I used onion,bell pepper and carrots as the only veggies. It was a very nice meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used this recipe as a basis and then adjusted to my own taste. Here are my variations: Added 1 small sweet yellow onion Doubled sauce recipe(vinegar, chicken broth, sherry and fish sauce) Doubled corn starch/water Added 1 tsp sugar used and entire head of garlic(about 15 cloves) I prepped the ingredients first, then made the sauce. I halved the jumbo shrimp(Costco fresh shrimp are awesome) and soaked them in the sauce while I was cooking the veggies. I then added the shrimp and continued cooking for about a minute then added the sauce and finally the corn startch slurry. I served this over Jasmine Rice and it was incredible. Better than any Chinese restaraunt I've ever had it at. Kudos on this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cableguyxx
Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very tasty thanks for this one. My in-laws are from Vietnam so I have stiff competition when it comes to stir fries, but this recipe, won the family over and I plan to cook it again. I added a bell pepper and about 2 TBSP sugar to the sauce but otherwise changed nothing. Next time I will make more sauce because it was very good, and would be great over extra rice. Tips* to make the wok extra hot, and not to make the food soggy I stir fry all my stir fry dishes one part at a time. For example first fry up the peas, take them out and set aside, then do the mushrooms, continue until everything is complete, and then once everything is hot and crispy toss it in the wok or skillet with the sauce of your choice. I learned this from an Asian cooking show that was teaching how to make the best stir fry if you do not have a restaurant quality wok with a burning flame in your home. Since using this technique my food has improved greatly in this style of cooking. I hope it will work for you also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was exceptionally good. I was surprised at the flavor. No soy sauce which is great. I had a little too much red pepper in it so will cut back the next time. A little too much heat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
very good The only thing I did different was to decrease red pepper flakes (i used 1/8 tsp) We really liked this. I served it over jasmine rice. Fast and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States