Chinese Take-Out Shrimp with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very tasty thanks for this one. My in-laws are from Vietnam so I have stiff competition when it comes to stir fries, but this recipe, won the family over and I plan to cook it again. I added a bell pepper and about 2 TBSP sugar to the sauce but otherwise changed nothing. Next time I will make more sauce because it was very good, and would be great over extra rice. Tips* to make the wok extra hot, and not to make the food soggy I stir fry all my stir fry dishes one part at a time. For example first fry up the peas, take them out and set aside, then do the mushrooms, continue until everything is complete, and then once everything is hot and crispy toss it in the wok or skillet with the sauce of your choice. I learned this from an Asian cooking show that was teaching how to make the best stir fry if you do not have a restaurant quality wok with a burning flame in your home. Since using this technique my food has improved greatly in this style of cooking. I hope it will work for you also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was excellent! The only reason I am giving 4 instead of 5 is that is was SUPER spicy. Me and hubby really like the spice but it was almost too much for us which leads me to believe it would be WAY too hot for most people. Scale back on the heat and you have yourself a fabulous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
WOW! If you are a garlic lover, a seafood lover, and like an asian inspired dish with some heat, STOP, you have found the perfect recipe! This was really delicious, I prepared exactly as written and just added some more veg, some shredded carrot and red pepper strips. Served over jasmine rice spiked with carrot and fine diced red peppers. Hubby raved over this. Thanks for a very delicious recipe, will keep this one in the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
WE loved this. I used onion,bell pepper and carrots as the only veggies. It was a very nice meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this - I was truly crazy about it!! My DH liked it, and my step son did not (And i left out the red peppers in hopes that he'd like it - so next time I'll make it with the red pepper flakes too :) I used 1tbsp canola and 1tbsp sesame oil, yum! I didn't have fish sauce, so I used clam juice. Other than that I followed the recipe, well less garlic but will use a bit more next time too. Yum -thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used this recipe as a basis and then adjusted to my own taste. Here are my variations: Added 1 small sweet yellow onion Doubled sauce recipe(vinegar, chicken broth, sherry and fish sauce) Doubled corn starch/water Added 1 tsp sugar used and entire head of garlic(about 15 cloves) I prepped the ingredients first, then made the sauce. I halved the jumbo shrimp(Costco fresh shrimp are awesome) and soaked them in the sauce while I was cooking the veggies. I then added the shrimp and continued cooking for about a minute then added the sauce and finally the corn startch slurry. I served this over Jasmine Rice and it was incredible. Better than any Chinese restaraunt I've ever had it at. Kudos on this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cableguyxx
Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is very tasty shrimp stir-fry recipe. I cut back on the garlic though, by only using 2 garlic cloves. 10 garlic cloves is way too much garlic for me! I served it over hot steamed rice, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was exceptionally good. I was surprised at the flavor. No soy sauce which is great. I had a little too much red pepper in it so will cut back the next time. A little too much heat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Very flavorfull! For the garlic lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Wow wow, delicious does not describe this. Will be making again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States