Chinese Take-Out Shrimp with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
very good The only thing I did different was to decrease red pepper flakes (i used 1/8 tsp) We really liked this. I served it over jasmine rice. Fast and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was ok..... I was hoping it would be better... This doesn't taste like Chinese food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was super salty. Besides the abundance of salt, the flavor was really great. No salt next time and it should be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used this recipe as a basis and then adjusted to my own taste. Here are my variations: Added 1 small sweet yellow onion Doubled sauce recipe(vinegar, chicken broth, sherry and fish sauce) Doubled corn starch/water Added 1 tsp sugar used and entire head of garlic(about 15 cloves) I prepped the ingredients first, then made the sauce. I halved the jumbo shrimp(Costco fresh shrimp are awesome) and soaked them in the sauce while I was cooking the veggies. I then added the shrimp and continued cooking for about a minute then added the sauce and finally the corn startch slurry. I served this over Jasmine Rice and it was incredible. Better than any Chinese restaraunt I've ever had it at. Kudos on this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cableguyxx
Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was WAY too salty and spicy. If I make this again I will leave out the salt, black pepper, and red pepper. Why call it shrimp with garlic if you can't taste either one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Fixed as written and it was delish.....I think my garlic cloves were too small and I think I would add even more garlic. The red pepper flakes added the perfect amount of zip. Very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Wow wow, delicious does not describe this. Will be making again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this - I was truly crazy about it!! My DH liked it, and my step son did not (And i left out the red peppers in hopes that he'd like it - so next time I'll make it with the red pepper flakes too :) I used 1tbsp canola and 1tbsp sesame oil, yum! I didn't have fish sauce, so I used clam juice. Other than that I followed the recipe, well less garlic but will use a bit more next time too. Yum -thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
WOW! If you are a garlic lover, a seafood lover, and like an asian inspired dish with some heat, STOP, you have found the perfect recipe! This was really delicious, I prepared exactly as written and just added some more veg, some shredded carrot and red pepper strips. Served over jasmine rice spiked with carrot and fine diced red peppers. Hubby raved over this. Thanks for a very delicious recipe, will keep this one in the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States