Chinese Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Delicious - perfect balance of flavors. I scaled the recipe back and cut the chicken breasts into medallions; therefore I marinated the medallions for 45 minutes and baked it for 30 minutes at 325º. I served the chicken medallions over mixed greens so I used the marinade that had cooked and thickened during the baking process as the salad dressing. I didn’t have fresh ginger so I substituted dried ginger and used cider vinegar. Perfect - can’t get any easier or tastier than this. Added note: I made this again cutting them into medallions only this time I grilled them on the grill with excellent results. It's a fast, easy and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I scaled the recipe down for two breast for just the husband and I. When I went to get sugar I realized we were out of white sugar...like that ever happens? So I used brown sugar instead. I used Balsamic vinegar, since it wasn't specified what kind to use. We grilled our breast on charcoal and I cooked the leftover marinade on the stove top to thicken and baste the chicken. I forgot the tablespoon of water, wasn't needed. Next time I make I might put in a teaspoon of chili sauce and add some minced onion for more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was very good. I added a little sesame oil because I like the flavor in chinese style dishes and a few drops of chinese hot oil to give it a little heat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made the marinade the day before and let the chicken sit in it over night. Then I just popped it in the oven to cook. Super easy, absolutely delicious! And, mine wasn't black (as happened to a previous reviewer) it cooked up beautifully! In fact, I'm having the leftovers for lunch right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fantastic chicken!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Great on a sandwich or salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Sooo good!!!! made this for dinner with chinese vegetable fried rice. So wonderful hubby could not wait for the leftovers for lunch the next day. Will make again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great! I added some steemed vegetables (brocoli, onion, red & green peppers) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Deeeelishish! A keeper for the recipe box. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Such a great recipe!!! My niece and boyfriend tore it up!!! Didn't have vinegar, but it came out bomb anyway. The marinating really makes a difference! Oh and used boneless chicken thighs instead of dry a** breasts??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States