Chinese Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Great on a sandwich or salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Florida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fantastic chicken!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The weather has been surprisingly warm for the month of March in Ohio, so I decided to make this recipe, but in order to take advantage of the nicer weather, we grilled it rather than baking it. I made half the marinade for two chicken breast halves but I only added the cornstarch to half of it. I marinated in the half without the cornstarch. I heated the other half that included the cornstarch on the stovetop until thickened and bubbly. Hubs grilled the chicken, basting with the thickened sauce during the last few minutes, which produced some beautiful looking chicken coming off the grill. While we thought this was quite good, it may not be our absolute favorite – a little too heavy on the soy sauce flavor for us. But that didn’t stop us from polishing off every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I scaled the recipe down for two breast for just the husband and I. When I went to get sugar I realized we were out of white sugar...like that ever happens? So I used brown sugar instead. I used Balsamic vinegar, since it wasn't specified what kind to use. We grilled our breast on charcoal and I cooked the leftover marinade on the stove top to thicken and baste the chicken. I forgot the tablespoon of water, wasn't needed. Next time I make I might put in a teaspoon of chili sauce and add some minced onion for more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I made the marinade the day before and let the chicken sit in it over night. Then I just popped it in the oven to cook. Super easy, absolutely delicious! And, mine wasn't black (as happened to a previous reviewer) it cooked up beautifully! In fact, I'm having the leftovers for lunch right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe was not what I was expecting - it didn't taste anything like sweet & sour chicken. It reminded me of an Asian bottle marinade that we use. All you could taste was soy sauce and it wasn't even sweet, or sour for that matter. The color was not appealing either, it was almost black (like soy sauce) when it came out of the oven. Sorry, just didn't care for this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was very good. I added a little sesame oil because I like the flavor in chinese style dishes and a few drops of chinese hot oil to give it a little heat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Delicious - perfect balance of flavors. I scaled the recipe back and cut the chicken breasts into medallions; therefore I marinated the medallions for 45 minutes and baked it for 30 minutes at 325º. I served the chicken medallions over mixed greens so I used the marinade that had cooked and thickened during the baking process as the salad dressing. I didn’t have fresh ginger so I substituted dried ginger and used cider vinegar. Perfect - can’t get any easier or tastier than this. Added note: I made this again cutting them into medallions only this time I grilled them on the grill with excellent results. It's a fast, easy and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States