Chinese Sweet Bun Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I have made this recipe twice. No more pizza pops in out house. The kids love the sweet dough and we put pizza toppings inside. We divide the recipe into 13 and is gives them a nice size for their lunches. I cheat a bit and add all the ingredients into my bread maker. I use instant yeast and mix with a third of the flour. Make sure the milk is quite warm mix in the sugar. Top with dry ingredients, make a small hole and pour in the oil, egg, and water. You might have to add a bit of water while this mixing process, my bread machine makes a loud clicking sound. I don't know how many rules I've broken by using the bread maker, but it works for me. We will be making this recipe lots. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have been looking for soft sweet buns for so long and at last I have found it. I halved the recipe and did not glaze them (no more eggs). Other than that, I kept to the letter and it is the best bun recipe that turned out so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I stumbled upon this recipe while searching for a sweet dough recipe to use for cinnamon rolls. The "cross between a bread and pastry dough" in the description caught my eye, so I whipped up a batch, omitting the sesame seeds & egg-wash step at the end of the recipe (naturally!). I was not disappointed!! My rolls turned out marvelous. Perfect taste and texture. I will be using this dough for cinnamon buns from now on. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I didn't have time to stuff my meat mixture in these so I made them into dinner rolls with the meat on the side. Everyone loved them. I will make these again but maybe decrease the salt by 1/2 tsp. These were really easy and really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My family loves Chinese Pork Buns, and this dough was PERFECT to make them at home. Follow this recipe, and you'll have great pork (or beef, or chicken, or veggie) buns too! The only thing I recommend is in step 1 to add the eggs, oil, and salt BEFORE the flour (or at least at the same time by making a well in the flour), as it is difficult to mix otherwise. I find that two hours is usually plenty for the first rise, and for my oven the final baking is usually only 20 minutes. These are so great, and wonderfully non-messy to eat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made these buns with bbq pork filling. I am thinking about using my bread maker to knead and rise the dough next time. I'll update this when I see how that turns out. This recipe is easy to follow unlike other recipes for chinese sweet buns AND you don't need any special equipment really. They were super delicious too and I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good recipe! Tastes just like the ones we get from our local asian market. I filled mine with a sweet coconut mixture to make chinese cocktail buns, very yummy:3 for anyone who is looking to cut down on a bit of work, i experimented and put all the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough cycle and it rose beautifully! The order i did it in: warm milk, oil(i used canola), eggs, sugar, salt, bread flour, and lastly the yeast (i accidentally added in the 2 tsp of water to the dough that was meant for the egg wash:P it didn't hurt anything).. then i let my bread machine do its thing:) after it was done kneading i let it sit in the machine for about 2 hours. After i filled and placed my rolls on the baking sheet i let them sit in the oven for an hour (for the first 20 mins i put a bowl of boiling water under the bread then took it out and let the rolls sit in the oven for the remaining 40 mins). I used a honey wash for a bit of a sweet glaze:) Turned out sweet, soft, and so so yummy! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monipop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
First time making yeast rolls and didn't do well. It would have been nice if it was more detailed on the process to get it to rise. Not fun. Not tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made this in my bread machine and it came out perfectly. My kids loved it. I will make it again using more sugar and make little cinnamon rolls with it. The dough was very pliable and easy to work with. You could use this dough for many purposes. I made a filling of ground beef and veggies with an asian peanut sauce. These went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States