Chinese Sweet Bun Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Dough very good, just need to find better filling recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I was multi-tasking, so I put all of the ingredients in the bread machine in the order of the recipe, save that I put the flour in last. The dough rose beautifully and I used a chicken/ cabbage/carrot filling, flavored with Chinese five spice, garlic and green onions. The egg wash made them beautifully golden. This was very easy and very tasty. We will use this again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Really good instructions. I tried it tonight and it was a hit for the family, I even have some left over (freezer.) I used my bread machine and changed only two things, I used 3c bread flour and no seeds. Well put together. 4 stars and 2 thumbs up. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennda Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
this recipe had potential, but there wasn't enough sugar and mine came out to be very doughy. these were really fun to make though. Also I would add less salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
good with craisins and walnuts, should have added more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious! Made different fillings for my kids' lunches. They love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Love this bread! Proofed and mixed in the mixer with a dough hook. I did add the liquid ingredients and the eggs before adding flour to the mixer. I was worried at how wet the dough felt after mixing, but it came together nicely. Great texture and flavor. Cooked this at 300' for 25 min in the convection oven filled with italian chicken and sauce. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Followed the instructions exactly and turned out great. Mine took just under 4 hours for the dough to rise to a light and airy consistency. Baked as above instructions informed and made them into original sweet buns that i topped with coconut and almond slivers; tasted amazing! I still have some more dough that I am going to fill with some red bean paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
They were really good! It just a while to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Not sweet at all!!! I would add less salt (1/2 tsp), more sugar, less yeast!!! but overall a nice recipe! nice texture, nice rise, a little "yeasty" I would probably only use egg for the wash; water makes them hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States