Chinese-Style Steamed Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I made this with catfish because here in the landlocked midwest it was half the price of halibut. I LOVED this dish. The nappa cabbage and mushrooms were lovely and delicate. This taste almost better the next day. Make sure not to undercook fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
i gave it a four cuz to me it lacks of flavour.. so the next time i tried i added some ground black pepper, sesame oil, and also some bell peppers. im not a fan of cabbages so i use carrots instead... n it turned out so GREAT! my family jus love this dish.. def a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
It was kinda to bland for me. It was missing something for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
So tasty! This was awesome! I made this in my veg steamer and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I followed Cookinmum review and it came quite nice. I added some extra mushrooms and next time I will add some lemon and more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I didn't have a steamer or cabbage so I took the suggestion to use chicken broth with grated ginger, garlic, pepper flakes, soy sauce but no add'l water. I used more mushrooms,('cause I love 'em)but everything else the same. Cooks fast (5 min.) and my family loved it! Next time I would go with 2lbs. of halibut for our family of three. Hubby and I were fighting over the last piece. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I made this for myself and my father tonight and we liked it a lot! And he likes fried fish but I said we have to eat healthier. He said I could make it again anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I was going to submit an almost identical recipe. I don't have a steamer though so this is how I do it. I put about 1 tbs grated ginger and 2 cloves garlic in pan warm in 1 cup warm chicken broth for about 1-2 min when comes to boil add about 2tbs soy sause, add catfish cover with sliced mushrooms and diagonally cut green onions spoon broth over fish cover cook about 5 min. FABULOUS. SUPER EASY. LOW CAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Used my electric wok with the steamer rack. Placed ingredients in a round cake pan, leaving enough room around the perimiter to allow the steam to circulate. Makes a good amount of its own juice when cooking - delicious. The sauce is thin like a broth, so serve with plenty of rice or noodles. I grated the ginger root instead of sliced it, used about 1T or so. May want to add some more cabbage if there is room in the pan. Easy clean up, healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This recipe is as it says: easy to prepare and hard to mess up. I used this on a Japanese bass and it turned out perfectly. I was a little more generous with the soy sauce than the recipe called for and spread the ginger throughout the fish -- inside and out. One additional tip: make 1" vertical slices along the length of the fish (both sides) to allow the flavor to really get into the fish. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States