Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Fantastic! Tasted exactly like the sesame chicken I get at the restaurant. I couldn't find chile paste so I substituted 1 TBL salsa and a few drops of hot sauce. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I absolutely love this recipe...it makes stir fry a lot better...my friends love it so much and beg me to make for them all of the time plus they all got the recipe from me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I prepared this sauce last night and mixed it in with stir fried chicken breast and onions. It was GREAT!! I would recommend this sauce to anyone who enjoys food with an Asian flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
So Good. I served it with the Japanese style fried chicken from this website and rice. It was perfect, just like the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Oh wow. I made this yesterday, it came out sooooo good! Sesame Chicken is my favorite, but I hate that it's fried. I just like the sauce. I was able to make this a little healthier by using "Lite" soy sauce, and sodium-free chicken broth. I didn't have chile paste, so I used powder. I also was out of fresh garlic, so I used a powder there as well. It still came out wonderful. I can't wait to try this without substitutions! I made the sauce, then put 4 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a baking dish. I poured the sauce over them (all of it), and baked for about an hour at 275-300. Served with chicken-flavored rice. Everyone loved it, even my 3 and 5 year old kids (and a fellow student at school who finished mine off!). I will definitely use this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Just awesome! I did make a few changes (didn't have some things in the house): used all water instead of chicken broth and water, used 1/3 cup toasted sesame seeds instead of the sesame oil, and used 3 tablespoons of chili garlic paste instead of the paste and garlic. My husband liked it so much he dumped all the leftover rice in the saucepan and ate it standing up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This was excellent. I found that for a little over a pound of chicken (stirfried) I only needed a little over a third of this sauce. I froze the rest...I hope it freezes well. I also added 1 Tbsp of toasted sesame seeds to the chicken/sauced dish. VERY GOOD. Reminiscent of food court chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This recipe ROCKS!!! It is easy to make and totally addictive to eat and share with family and friends. Of course you can marinate your chicken or whatever little changes you want to make to make it your own, but, get this...it works great with pork too! No kidding! Thanks to reykjaviky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Very good sauce. I added cooked bite sz. pcs. of boneless chicken breast for a Chicken Sesame Dish and served with rice. I added an additional tsp. of chili paste for just a bit more kick! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I omitted the sugar and replaced it with 1/2 c of Equal Lite- I also left out the oil and chile paste, I dont like hot foods. After my alterations I thought this recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States