Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe. My kids favorite is sesame chicken from any chinese resturant, we order it about twice a month. Just a note, it WILL be sweet, my kids have always called it "sweet chicken" instead of sesame. But it tasted very close to what we order bi-weekly. My husband said it was better. Thank you so much for giving me this recipe, now i can cook it at home once in a while and know what I am putting in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towanda, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
My husband really like this sauce, but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I think the recipe was great once I made a couple of modifications as stated by other postings. I cut down the sesame oil by 1/3and reduced the sugar by 1/2. The result was a pretty great sauce that compares to several other recipes as prepared by my local chinese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Not what I was expecting. No one in the family was very fond of it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I've made this a few times. The first time, I made it as written and we thought it was "not bad". Next time we cut back on the vinegar and it was better. Then we cut back a little on the sugar...we liked it best this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This sauce was very good-almost like the restaurant!! I did use a bit less vinegar than even listed as the taste is very strong. I also did not have chile paste so made without. Loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This sauce is VERY good. We added some dry roasted sesame seeds to give more texture. The only thing we didn't like about it was that it's too sweet for our taste. It was also a little too thick. We will definately make this again, and experiment with some combination of less sugar/more vinegar/less cornstarch. We put this on fried eggplant and tofu and it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I went out and bought sesame oil just for this recipe. I wanted to try it SO bad. My husband liked it enough, but I found the flavor of the oil to be WAY TOO strong. It also got a bit too thick, so might want to back off on the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSENFAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
The sauce was actually quite good for home made. I might use less sesame oil next time as the flavor was very strong. I used a litte less corn starch than called for so it wasn't too thick. All in all this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Excellent sauce! It does not get any better than this recipe! This is truly an authentic recipe! We use 1/4 cup of vinegar but this is just our taste preference. We use it for sesame chicken and it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States