Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful base sauce. I made it last night and my husband devoured it. I do agree with other reviewers that a cup of sugar is way too much. Luckily I read a lot of reviews before making it. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and it was still a little too sweet. I added garlic chile sauce instead of chile paste and minced garlic. It was just easier. I also reduced the cornstarch to 2 tbsp. The thickness was perfect. I can't wait to make again with some different adjustments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've been trying to reproduce the flavor of take-out Sesame Chicken. This sauce is as close as I have come. I think that next time, I'll put less sesame oil. That flavor came out a bit more than the restaurant style. But, I have something to work with. I didn't think that the sauce was too sweet, but, the take-out Chinese Sesame chicken is VERY sweet. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
i thought it was very easy. i cut down the sugar and cornstarch and still thought it was a little to sweet so i added more soy sauce and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Jack loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was so easy and delicious. I reduced the quantity of sugar recommended for fear it might be too sweet & I didn't have chile sauce available but it was still great. I used it on sesame chicken and chinese vegetables over rice. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This had a wonderful flavor. I added extra garlic and substituted a 1/2 cup of flour for the cornstarch. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was sickly sweet and gelatenous! If I were to try again, I'd use 1/4 of the sugar and 1/3 of the cornstarch. It also makes way too much sauce, even though it says 4 servings it's really for 8-10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe. My kids favorite is sesame chicken from any chinese resturant, we order it about twice a month. Just a note, it WILL be sweet, my kids have always called it "sweet chicken" instead of sesame. But it tasted very close to what we order bi-weekly. My husband said it was better. Thank you so much for giving me this recipe, now i can cook it at home once in a while and know what I am putting in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towanda, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
My husband really like this sauce, but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I think the recipe was great once I made a couple of modifications as stated by other postings. I cut down the sesame oil by 1/3and reduced the sugar by 1/2. The result was a pretty great sauce that compares to several other recipes as prepared by my local chinese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States