Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I tweaked this quite a bit. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and about 1/8 cup corn starch. It was perfect this way! Much better than the orange syrup you get at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Definitely a good base sauce, I too followed the advice of others and only added 1/4 cup sugar along with less cornstarch. The consistency was perfect and the taste was just about right. I combined the ingredients and then added the cooked chicken and steamed broccoli. After the sauce thickened, served over white rice...east and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Wonderful recipe! However, I could not find chile paste in the store. As a substitute, I used 2 teaspoons of sweet chile sauce, and 1 teaspoon of Tabasco sauce. I like my sauce quite a bit spicy, so I added even more hot sauce after simmering, then tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful base sauce. I made it last night and my husband devoured it. I do agree with other reviewers that a cup of sugar is way too much. Luckily I read a lot of reviews before making it. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and it was still a little too sweet. I added garlic chile sauce instead of chile paste and minced garlic. It was just easier. I also reduced the cornstarch to 2 tbsp. The thickness was perfect. I can't wait to make again with some different adjustments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've been trying to reproduce the flavor of take-out Sesame Chicken. This sauce is as close as I have come. I think that next time, I'll put less sesame oil. That flavor came out a bit more than the restaurant style. But, I have something to work with. I didn't think that the sauce was too sweet, but, the take-out Chinese Sesame chicken is VERY sweet. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
i thought it was very easy. i cut down the sugar and cornstarch and still thought it was a little to sweet so i added more soy sauce and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Jack loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was so easy and delicious. I reduced the quantity of sugar recommended for fear it might be too sweet & I didn't have chile sauce available but it was still great. I used it on sesame chicken and chinese vegetables over rice. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This had a wonderful flavor. I added extra garlic and substituted a 1/2 cup of flour for the cornstarch. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was sickly sweet and gelatenous! If I were to try again, I'd use 1/4 of the sugar and 1/3 of the cornstarch. It also makes way too much sauce, even though it says 4 servings it's really for 8-10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States