Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Amazing recipe. Love and made this so many times .... absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was so good! We've been experimenting for awhile with making chinese sauces and this was by far the best we've tried. I did half the sugar and added a couple Tbsp of sesame seeds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Hi, Reykjaviky here :) I posted this recipe over 6 years ago on several others sites and I just found out a month or so ago that it has become a little bit popular. Very cool. Oh my gosh, I am so incredibly happy that some people like it. I just wanted to add that of course you can sprinkle sesame seeds on the chicken after the sauce is poured on it AND you can also use this sauce for pork! Thank you so much for liking my recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is as close as i have found w/out goin out to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This sauce had good flavor...once I made a few adjustments as suggested by other posters. (after making a batch and pitching it ~ therefore only 3 stars) 1 cup of sugar is way too much. I used 1/4 cup and I used Splenda. Much better. I used all chicken broth, no water. I used Thai Chili/Garlic sauce instead of the chile paste and garlic. I added 1 teaspoon of ginger paste. This recipe said it makes 4 servings...huge servings maybe. LOL This makes about 2 cups of sauce. I only used 1/2 of it to feed my family of 5. I don't like my chicken to be swimming in the sauce. I will be making this again with the above adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was really easy and really good. I used vegetable broth and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This sauce was really good even though I did not have chili paste or sesame oil. I followed everything else and used it as a stir-fry sauce. I will definitely use this again, but add maybe half the sugar. Without the chili paste or sesame oil it is more a a sweet and sour sauce, and a good one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I used this sauce when I made sesame tofu and it does taste like the restaurant's sesame sauce. Try not to heat it up too quickly though, it will turn from a soup to a paste very fast. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This sauce is excellent. However, I found it to be extremely thick. Too thick for my purposes, so next time I will decrease the amount of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
As it were, I took the advice of many and started with half the sugar and less cornstarch. I tasted it and found it to be lacking in... something. I then added whatever I could to make this tastier. I ended up adding: more garlic, more sesame oil, more soy, some chinese 5 spice powder, hot pepper flakes, some hoisin sauce I found in the fridge, some lemon juice, and still in the end I thought it was allright, However, the husband and the 5 year old thought it was really good. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiepickleshoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States