Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Loved it! I followed what some reviewers said about it being too sweet. So I used only a 1/4 cup of splenda. Yes, I used splenda and it turned out awesome. Will even make it for a large party. It's so easy. I poured the sauce over cooked brocolli and pan fried tofu and served it over rice. After making it a few times I realized that if I use only 1/8 cup of cornstarch it's a better consistency and it's not as thick. I would suggest making these two changes, then it would definitely be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Fantastic! Tasted exactly like the sesame chicken I get at the restaurant. I couldn't find chile paste so I substituted 1 TBL salsa and a few drops of hot sauce. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Just awesome! I did make a few changes (didn't have some things in the house): used all water instead of chicken broth and water, used 1/3 cup toasted sesame seeds instead of the sesame oil, and used 3 tablespoons of chili garlic paste instead of the paste and garlic. My husband liked it so much he dumped all the leftover rice in the saucepan and ate it standing up! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Oh wow. I made this yesterday, it came out sooooo good! Sesame Chicken is my favorite, but I hate that it's fried. I just like the sauce. I was able to make this a little healthier by using "Lite" soy sauce, and sodium-free chicken broth. I didn't have chile paste, so I used powder. I also was out of fresh garlic, so I used a powder there as well. It still came out wonderful. I can't wait to try this without substitutions! I made the sauce, then put 4 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a baking dish. I poured the sauce over them (all of it), and baked for about an hour at 275-300. Served with chicken-flavored rice. Everyone loved it, even my 3 and 5 year old kids (and a fellow student at school who finished mine off!). I will definitely use this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Excellent sauce! It does not get any better than this recipe! This is truly an authentic recipe! We use 1/4 cup of vinegar but this is just our taste preference. We use it for sesame chicken and it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I absolutely love this recipe...it makes stir fry a lot better...my friends love it so much and beg me to make for them all of the time plus they all got the recipe from me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I think the recipe was great once I made a couple of modifications as stated by other postings. I cut down the sesame oil by 1/3and reduced the sugar by 1/2. The result was a pretty great sauce that compares to several other recipes as prepared by my local chinese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This had a wonderful flavor. I added extra garlic and substituted a 1/2 cup of flour for the cornstarch. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This sauce had good flavor...once I made a few adjustments as suggested by other posters. (after making a batch and pitching it ~ therefore only 3 stars) 1 cup of sugar is way too much. I used 1/4 cup and I used Splenda. Much better. I used all chicken broth, no water. I used Thai Chili/Garlic sauce instead of the chile paste and garlic. I added 1 teaspoon of ginger paste. This recipe said it makes 4 servings...huge servings maybe. LOL This makes about 2 cups of sauce. I only used 1/2 of it to feed my family of 5. I don't like my chicken to be swimming in the sauce. I will be making this again with the above adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
So Good. I served it with the Japanese style fried chicken from this website and rice. It was perfect, just like the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States