Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I also toasted my sesame seeds for more flavor, but found myself a little bored with this recipe. It wasn't bad at all, just lacked flavor and seemed a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
So Good. I served it with the Japanese style fried chicken from this website and rice. It was perfect, just like the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Hmmmm...this was just not for me. I went ahead and used the full amount of sugar, despite the numerous reviews mentioning it was too sweet. Mine turned out too thick for my liking and had a watered down taste. I like all of the ingredients that go into this sauce, but for some reason they didn't seem to harmonize when mixed together. Maybe if less cornstarch was used I'd like it better. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Very tasty. I make it regularly now. The Hubby loves it. Highly reccomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I cut the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup and my husband and I both thought this was a pretty good sauce - I imagine if you used a whole cup of sugar it might make you gag. It still thickened very nicely. I served it with chicken & vegetables stir-fried in sesame oil with red pepper flakes over rice. This was WAY better than the packet of sauce that comes in the bag of frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
It's very sweet, tasted kind of good while warm, but what am I supposed to do with it? I can't imagine pouring this over anything...lest of all, broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
While the base of this sauce allows for freedom to experiment, as it stands I thought it was WAY WAY WAY TOO SWEET!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will cut the amount of sugar in half. I used it to stir fry some chicken and vegetables, but it didn't taste too authentic to me. Next time I'll add some ginger, scallions, and more soy sauce. Not bad to start with, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Oh wow. I made this yesterday, it came out sooooo good! Sesame Chicken is my favorite, but I hate that it's fried. I just like the sauce. I was able to make this a little healthier by using "Lite" soy sauce, and sodium-free chicken broth. I didn't have chile paste, so I used powder. I also was out of fresh garlic, so I used a powder there as well. It still came out wonderful. I can't wait to try this without substitutions! I made the sauce, then put 4 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a baking dish. I poured the sauce over them (all of it), and baked for about an hour at 275-300. Served with chicken-flavored rice. Everyone loved it, even my 3 and 5 year old kids (and a fellow student at school who finished mine off!). I will definitely use this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This was excellent. I found that for a little over a pound of chicken (stirfried) I only needed a little over a third of this sauce. I froze the rest...I hope it freezes well. I also added 1 Tbsp of toasted sesame seeds to the chicken/sauced dish. VERY GOOD. Reminiscent of food court chinese food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Very good sauce. I added cooked bite sz. pcs. of boneless chicken breast for a Chicken Sesame Dish and served with rice. I added an additional tsp. of chili paste for just a bit more kick! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States