Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I tweaked this quite a bit. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and about 1/8 cup corn starch. It was perfect this way! Much better than the orange syrup you get at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Definitely a good base sauce, I too followed the advice of others and only added 1/4 cup sugar along with less cornstarch. The consistency was perfect and the taste was just about right. I combined the ingredients and then added the cooked chicken and steamed broccoli. After the sauce thickened, served over white rice...east and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Wonderful recipe! However, I could not find chile paste in the store. As a substitute, I used 2 teaspoons of sweet chile sauce, and 1 teaspoon of Tabasco sauce. I like my sauce quite a bit spicy, so I added even more hot sauce after simmering, then tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful base sauce. I made it last night and my husband devoured it. I do agree with other reviewers that a cup of sugar is way too much. Luckily I read a lot of reviews before making it. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar and it was still a little too sweet. I added garlic chile sauce instead of chile paste and minced garlic. It was just easier. I also reduced the cornstarch to 2 tbsp. The thickness was perfect. I can't wait to make again with some different adjustments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've been trying to reproduce the flavor of take-out Sesame Chicken. This sauce is as close as I have come. I think that next time, I'll put less sesame oil. That flavor came out a bit more than the restaurant style. But, I have something to work with. I didn't think that the sauce was too sweet, but, the take-out Chinese Sesame chicken is VERY sweet. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
i thought it was very easy. i cut down the sugar and cornstarch and still thought it was a little to sweet so i added more soy sauce and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Jack loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was so easy and delicious. I reduced the quantity of sugar recommended for fear it might be too sweet & I didn't have chile sauce available but it was still great. I used it on sesame chicken and chinese vegetables over rice. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This had a wonderful flavor. I added extra garlic and substituted a 1/2 cup of flour for the cornstarch. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was sickly sweet and gelatenous! If I were to try again, I'd use 1/4 of the sugar and 1/3 of the cornstarch. It also makes way too much sauce, even though it says 4 servings it's really for 8-10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States