Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I think it should note in this recipe that you should make this right before you put this on your meat/tofu/vegetable. I made this before I made my chicken and the sauce turned into a sort of jelly. I am not sure if that had to do with the fact that I cut the sugar in half, but nonethelss, it was an odd consistency. The taste, however, was good, and overall my meal turned out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I wish I could have given more stars!Was a little sweet so will cut down on sugar next time.Was a big hit with everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was VERY GOOD. I served it with chicken and vegetables over a bed of rice and it was Yummy! My husband and my son (very picky) had seconds. I didn't change anything except I used 1/4 cup of Splenda as suggested by other reviews, and I used ground red pepper instead of chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was terrible. Granted, I couldn't fine "chile paste" so substituted "chili sauce" but it looked NOTHING like the sauce pictured, and tasted NOTHING like any sesame sauce I've ever had at a Chinese restaurant. I couln't even eat it - the smell bothered me too much, but my fiance thought it was just ok and ate some of it. I don't know if I did something wrong (although I was very careful about following the recipe) or it's just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We have loved this recipe every time I've made it. I have substituted ground red pepper for the chili paste and have replaced half the sugar with splenda. It's still a "keeper" with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe is only 2 stars as written. I took others suggestions and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also cut the 1/8 cup corn starch. I didn't have chili paste so I used garlic chili sauce. I used rice vinegar instead of white. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I tasted the sauce before using it. I then added 1 TBS ginger, extra garlic and a 1/2 TBS more chili sauce, plus some red pepper flakes. I tossed it with sauteed chicken and broccoli. I also added some toasted sesame seeds on top at the end. It was good, but next time I will try fresh ginger and even more garlic. It is four stars with the modifications. I don't think it was salty like others rated. I only used reduced sodium chicken broth, maybe that was others problem. I did use full sodium soy sauce, which I usually don't use. Not salty at all. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My husband and kids love this! It is a quick meal when you use leftover chicken (nuggets?)and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
One of my favorite chinese dishes is Sesame Chicken. I was delighted when found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Tastes just like restaurant sauce. I used Splenda instead of sugar and only one Tbsp. of sesame sauce. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very good! Nice and sweet and thick. Recipe makes quite a bit, so plan for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States