Chinese Style Sesame Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Use only half of the sugar. Velvet chicken and serve with white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I would love for someone to give me the recipe for the chili paste needed for this recipe. Help? I know I will love it, but need to know how to make the chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I had to reduce the cornstarch and sesame oil to half. I thought the oil was just a bit too much in the original. I also only used 2 tbs of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this sauce then poured it over chicken strips and baked it at 350 for 45 minutes, served it over rice and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Wonderful sauce. Easy to make and tastes great over chicken. I added sesame seeds and that's the only thing I changed. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very tasty but mine was VERY thick- going to cut back the corn starch next time, and it's a lot of sauce, so if only cooking for 2-4 would cut recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I made this recipe as written, it is Very Sweet. I will make it again but I will cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. I served my sauce with a stir fry of veggies and chicken breast over rice. It was a big hot but all agreed way to sweet. We look forward to having it again and expect it to taste great after modifications. I gave it 4 stars because I think it is good and has the potential to be a great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Faust

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
The first time I made this, I was in a huge hurry to get supper on the table, and mistakenly read '1/4 cup cornstarch' as '1/4 cup cornsyrup'! After it had been simmering for a few minutes, I noticed it wasn't thickening up like I imagined it would. I didn't waste time pondering over the wee mystery, though, and instead simply added a tablespoon or so of honey and some watered down cornstarch. Only the second time I made this sauce --- Today --- Did I realise my mistake! However, it turned out brilliantly the first time, so I simply repeated my mistake a second time, and once more, it was absolutely delicious! The only other changes I made was omit the chile paste, and use beef consommé in place of the chicken stock to suit what we had in our pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mm!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I can't believe how good this sauce is! I just made it, ahead of time for dinner, and I can't wait until my family gets to eat it. I didn't have chili paste or fresh garlic, so I subbed with 1 tsp. sriracha sauce and 1/4 tsp. of garlic powder. If you like Chinese food, you have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
A really easy recipe that works well as a dip with asian appetizers. I didn't change a thing. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States