Chinese Style Ground Pork and Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
My husband and I went very impressed by this dish. It did not taste bad but there wasn't anything in it to really make it stand out. My husband added some chinese five spice to his portion and he said it helped. We won't make this recipe agian mainly because we like our food to be very falvorful and this just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed the simplicity of this dish. I couldn't find spicy bean sauce, so I used garlic bean sauce and lots of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
If you want this more flavorful, marinate the pork first with rice wine, white pepper, corn starch and tiny bit of soy sauce. You can also combine sweet bean sauce with spicy bean sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I've modified this dish to make a MaPau Pork/Tofu dish which I loved from restaurants in Singapore. Came out well. Doubled quantity of black bean sauce, used beer instead of sherry, added an equal amount of Japanese Rice Wine, used one regular minced onion, some mushrooms and voila! It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Didn't have all the ingredients so I made a similar recipe for dinner. It was good & filling. Very easy & customizable to whatever you have on hand. Browned the pork with oyster sauce, garlic powder & pepper. Then added a little chopped spinach & cilantro with soft tofu for a little extra color & flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Not bad with the black bean sauce. This was similar to the Ma Po Dofu that my mom used to make - a favourite of my brother's! Instead of black bean, we always used spicy red chili garlic paste, and garnished with chinese parsley. Cilantro, for all you non-asians!. SERIOUS heat - serve it with lots of steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I could not find spicy bean sauce or dry sherry so used garlic bean sauce and cooking sherry instead. I thought it was dry and did not like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was good. I had to do a little substuting. Used garlic chile sauce for the black bean sauce. I also added a half teaspoon cornstarch to help the sauce "stick". I didn't have green onions so just used regular onions & sauteed them with the garlic. Green would have been better. Needs more veggies than just that, too. The sauce was really good, but not nearly as good the next day. Eat more the first day or make more/fresh sauce the next. :) Tried with treduced fat pork & it was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
super easy to do i didn't have the sherry but still yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Tasty and very fast. I added some broccoli and added the tofu at the end so the cubes wouldnt get all mushy with stirring for the three minutes. Next time I'd add water chestnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States