Chinese-Style Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
These burgers have a great flavor and my family loves them. It was a little difficult getting the patties to hold their shape until I figured out to cube my cheese a lot smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Yum! Another low-carb recipe the whole group (including 3 kids) loved! 4.4 carbs per serving. I usually don't care for water chestnuts either, but they added a really delightful crunch. I also added one egg to the recipe to keep them held together and broiled them -- about 5 minutes on each side. Perfect! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
My picky husband and even my kids loved these! The new kraft cheese crumbles are easier to use in this recipe than the larger cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
I love this recipe and everyone who tries it loves it too! I do add a little oatmeal in with my hamburger mixture so it stays together better. Other than that it's perfect the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
We just started the AKTINS diet and wow!! What a tasty surprise these turned out to be! I didn't serve them with buns and they were simply delicious on their own. The water chestnuts add a nice "crunch." This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I was told these were the best bugers I had ever made! They were so excellent we didn't even use buns! I used an egg to help hold everything together, and also used Teriyaki and soy sauce. I melted a little cheese on top and served it with veggies and teriyaki rice. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I was shocked at how good these were!!! I really only made them because I am doing the low carb thing. I always saute' onions before adding to recipes (except cold dishes) but I didn't feel like it tonight. So I used 1 T. onion powder instead. I liked how it turned out! These were very flavorful & the whole family enjoyed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Here's the good and the bad. The good is that this is a tasty burger. The bad is that this burger seriously falls apart, and the cheese cubes melt big time in your pan. The recipe says to cook on a griddle or skillet, so DON'T even think about cooking these on your outside grill, as I can assure you you'll have a disaster. I read the reviews, did add some Egg Beaters in an effort to provide a binder, and although I was able to flip the burgers, it still was not a pretty sight. I used a Calphalon grill pan which is pretty easy to clean up, otherwise, I think I would have had a mess with the baked-on melted cheese. If I were to make this again, I think I'd skip the cheese cubes (not convinced there was anything gained from this) and just add a nice slice of cheese on the top making it a real cheeseburger. As suggested, I did use Teriyaki sauce in place of the soy sauce, but I really couldn't taste it at all. But then, who really cares, it still was a delicious and moist burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These were just OK. I love water chestnuts, but these were nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
These are really great!!! I absolutely love em'. They are hard to make patties out of. I tried the egg which helped a little bit. DEFINATELY a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Ramen Burger

This cheeseburger has big, bold flavors and a bun made with fried ramen noodles.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States