Chinese-Style Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Here's the good and the bad. The good is that this is a tasty burger. The bad is that this burger seriously falls apart, and the cheese cubes melt big time in your pan. The recipe says to cook on a griddle or skillet, so DON'T even think about cooking these on your outside grill, as I can assure you you'll have a disaster. I read the reviews, did add some Egg Beaters in an effort to provide a binder, and although I was able to flip the burgers, it still was not a pretty sight. I used a Calphalon grill pan which is pretty easy to clean up, otherwise, I think I would have had a mess with the baked-on melted cheese. If I were to make this again, I think I'd skip the cheese cubes (not convinced there was anything gained from this) and just add a nice slice of cheese on the top making it a real cheeseburger. As suggested, I did use Teriyaki sauce in place of the soy sauce, but I really couldn't taste it at all. But then, who really cares, it still was a delicious and moist burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I was told these were the best bugers I had ever made! They were so excellent we didn't even use buns! I used an egg to help hold everything together, and also used Teriyaki and soy sauce. I melted a little cheese on top and served it with veggies and teriyaki rice. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
These were delicious! I added an egg and some breadcrumbs based on other reviewers suggestions. I also used ketchup and chili powder instead of chili sauce, and chinese mustard instead of prepared mustard. I also used the cheese crumbles based on other suggestions. They held together "ok" but that's just because I warned the grill master ahead of time. We are going to try cooking them on the Forman grill next time to see if that helps keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Won't hold together on grill. Better to use a Foreman grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was a very good change from the regular burger. Made only 4 patties out of 1 lb. but they were just right for our bun size. Added the full can of water chestnuts(8 oz.) and it wasn't overpowering at all. Also used one egg and 2 tsp. minced garlic, did the sauce exactly as written, and loved it! I did change the sauce a little bit because I used 1 tsp. Dijon mustard and 1 tsp. sweet hot mustard. I would suggest making the sauce in a separate bowl before adding it to the hamburger so you can do a little taste test. I thought the sauce wasn't going to be enough, but the hamburgers were a perfect moistness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
These fell apart but I thought the flavor was pretty good. My husband who likes a lot of zip, thought they needed more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I thought these were pretty good. I took the suggestion of some of the other reviewers to use the Kraft Crumbles and that worked out pretty well. I did add the egg too to help them stay together, but they still fell apart a little bit. They were very moist and had good flavor. I also took it upon myself to make a little sauce that used the basis of this recipie to put over top and served with rice pilaf & asian style veggies. Pretty good. Will most likely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is a good alternative to your average burger. Nothing great, but I'll keep it in my rotation of burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These were just OK. I love water chestnuts, but these were nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Ramen Burger

This cheeseburger has big, bold flavors and a bun made with fried ramen noodles.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States