Chinese-Style Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
seriously good! I used like a whole tblspn for the sesame oil and didn't think that was too strong. Served with rice and teriyaki shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geneen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This really isn't a salad, but whatever it's called, it was just okay for us. I didn't use any vegetable oil, no salt, halved the vinegar, 1t sesame oil; oh, & regular soy sauce (Sorry to those who don't like it when we do that) ... I also used 2T confectioners sugar - thinking it wasn't going to dissolve in the cold ingredients. It's an okay recipe just needs a little spice - ginger, red pepper? Thanks though, ChristyJ! I enjoy lots of your other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is really good and a nice way to spruce up regular 'ol broccoli. I used a steam in bag of broccoli to save time. I cut back the sesame oil to one Tbsp. and used low sodium soy sauce. I also used rice wine vinegar vs. white vinegar and added some cracked black pepper and let this set for a couple of hours. I served this at room temperature with some toasted sesame seed over top and overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
For healthier version, didn't use any vegetable oil - only the sesame oil. Also, only used 1/4 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I steamed my broccoli omitting the need for oil and salt because the soy sauce is salty enough. Substituted rice vinegar, cut back on sesame oil (taste preference) and added grated ginger and chopped scallions. The ginger gave it a little extra pop. I served it cold and it was devoured. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I steamed my broccoli and tossed with ingredients. I did however substitute white vinegar with rice vinegar and used only 1Tbsp of Sesame Oil. This was very, very good. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I liked it, but my family did not care. Next time, I will use light soy sauce. Thanks for the recipe. I ate them like I ate popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2WowKids

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I did make some changes to the dressing based on my personal preferences (for example, I knew this would be way too much soy sauce for me) but I think it still needs some work. I cut back the light soy sauce to 1 Tbsp, used only 2 tsp toasted sesame oil (since it's stronger in flavor than regular) and used honey for the sugar, and Szechuan pepper infused sea salt. I forgot to add red pepper flakes, as others had mentioned, but I think I would also use rice vinegar instead of regular distilled and perhaps add some orange juice to the dressing. Even with my reductions, it was still very soy sauce-heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Too much sesame oil. This was just not for me. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Perfect alternative to heavy mayonnaise base salads that usually make their appearance at barbecues. I did adjust the oil to 1 tlbsp, and used seasoned rice wine vinegar, so ended up omitting the sugar. And added the sesame seeds. Very yummy! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixie68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States