Chinese-Style Baby Bok Choy with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Mmmm...this was great, but a bit salty. I will not sprinkle salt on the mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very good. Goes well with meat. I didn't have potato starch; I used corn starch. I used rehydrated dried, sliced, Portobello shroom's. Have everything prepared and ready to go; there is no time to follow this recipe in 1, 2, 3 fashion without preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomas927

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I substituted King Trumpet mushrooms, and they were fabulous. I've been making my own version of this that have never compared to this recipe that I tasted in China. My biggest mistake was sauteing the bok choy instead of boiling it. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This sauce was delicious. My husband and I keep thinking of all the things we could do with this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Even better with fresh shiitake mushrooms!! And add a splash of sesame oil to the oyster sauce mixture. Baby bok choy really only needs 30-90 seconds minutes in the boiling water or else it gets chewy and limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent, particularly the sauce. I easily could see adding chicken or shrimp and serving over rice or noodles for an entree (double the sauce). The sauce is fantastic and would complement so many things that it makes my head spin. I had beautiful, fresh heads of baby bok choy, and they were overcooked at two minutes. When I realized they were overdone, I plunged them into a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking, but next time I will check at 30 seconds. I'll probably steam them the next time instead of cooking in a pot of boiling water eliminating the water draining out of the bok choy. Didn't add salt or oil to the water, and I used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I think the presentation should be the whole bok choy with mushroom sauce on top, but I just sliced mine into large pieces this time around. If you like Asian food, give this recipe a try because it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wow!! This is excellent! I used cornstarch instead of potato starch since its what I had on hand. I also used 3 large cloves of minced garlic because we love it. Made no other changes.....healthy and so flavorful. Sprinkled mine with hot pepper flakes for a kick. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was really good! Even the kids liked it. We had never used bok choy before but after this we will be eating it more often. I made exactly as written! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Yum! I added chopped chicken from a rotisserie chicken I picked up at the grocery store at the end to make it an entree and will probably serve it over rice next time. Very easy. Great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hott Fischrup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States