Chinese-Style Baby Bok Choy with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Made it according to the recipe and it was wonderful. I will make this again and again - LOVE IT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was amazing. I doubled the sauce recipe based on other reviews. Also used cornstarch and steamed the bok choy. I also added shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cooking. The shrimp added some water to the dish that I didn't allow for in the sauce. I'll just add more cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe is versatile but always delicious! Even my skeptical parents loved it (after asking what they were eating)! I often use shallots or red onion instead of green onion, and add a little ginger to the oyster sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Sauce was fantastic. only had one baby bok choy so I matchbox 1/2boneless chicken breast in salt and garlic granules brine. added 1/2 cupcarrots finely diced and sauteed with the mushroomsand chicken. When the bok choy was done, I removed from the water and splashed with a reisling(only white i had) then in water I boiled some shell pasta.In the final step I added the bok choy and the pasta. also cut back on the mushrooms. If I hadn'had thirds would of been enough for 3. Okay so I'm not a vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I cut the baby bok choy into thirds, steaming the bottom third and stir frying the top portion. I used low sodium soy sauce which helped a bit to keep the dish from being too salty. I added 3 sliced chicken breasts, which, with the addition of rice, made it a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reardan, Washington, USA
Living In: Ritzville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is a superb recipe to accompany a Chinese feast or just everyday dinner. Try it you will love it. Thanks to contributor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicious! I have made this twice and it's a hit - just exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I probably did something wrong, but this was WAY too salty! I didn't add the salt to the mushrooms because I know how salty oyster and soy sauces are. i wish I knew how to reduce the sodium but maintain the thickness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was excellent! I didn't have green onions, so I used half a yellow onion. Instead of oyster sauce, I used the same amount of fish sauce (anchovy based).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made the recipe just as listed and it was great. I might alter it a bit in the future because I am diabetic but I am sure it will still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPAD
Home Town: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States