Chinese-Style Baby Bok Choy with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I randomly bought bok choy one day and didn't know what to make with it. This recipe was bangin. I added snow peas and red peppers to make it more hearty. Awesome leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is an excellent side dish for family healthy dinner!!! My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made this for me and my husband. We loved it. Did not have potato starch so I used something called arrowroot, according to the bottle its actually an asian thickening spice. Found it in the spice isle at my local Winco. Turned out great and was nice and thick. Not too salty as I did not put very much in the water or the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Good and super easy. I just made it like a stir fry and added shrimp. The flavor of the sauce was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Nice.i used button mushrooms coz thats what I had handy. I also cut the bok choy into small chunks, coz the recipe didn't state anything with the bokchoy.came out fine. I think chopping it into pieces is anyways much better than whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I only had fish sauce on hands, so I used that instead of oyster sauce and added a teaspoon of sugar. Next time, I'll go get some oyster sauce. Also, as some other reviewers said, no need to salt the mushrooms! The flavor of the sauce is fine to stand on its own. It would have been oversalted but the baby bok choy helped balance out the flavor. This came out rather good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Recipe as is: 4-star side dish. Recipe with baby shrimp stirred in during step 3 resulted in a 5-star entreé!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I used baby bella mushrooms and my Chinese mother-in-law raved about it! I steamed the bok choy in the microwave. For the sauce, I used cornstarch instead of potato starch, as many other reviewers reported doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was super easy, and delicious!! I didn't add any extra salt, and I added some ginger. I used half cremini and half portobello mushrooms. And, of course, cornstarch ;). It was really, REALLY good! I'll definitely be using this as a staple in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was phenomenol! I cut the oil in half to make it healthier, and I only boiled the white part of the bok choy. I added the green leafy part to the mushrooms and sautéed them the last 1-2 minutes. I also added shrimp for a complete meal. All 6 of my kids gobbled it up, and they hate veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States