Chinese Sticky Rice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My family is Chinese and we make rice cakes all the time. We lost the recipe for it and were delighted to find one here. I put only half the amount of oil the in the recipe and they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MontanaKydd
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
What an easy recipe. I got pretty confused by reading all the reviews so I did reduce the sugar and oil by 1/2 and used soy milk. I made my own red bean paste using Azuki beans (whew, what a process) it turned out delish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made this for a potluck meal with Chinese University students and their host families... and it was a huge hit, especially among the students! - So much so that we came home from the party and made a second one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very Easy and traditional Chinese Cake. . .you don't need to change a thing! For red bean paste, make your own: one 15oz. can of red beans (I used kidney beans) and 1/2 cup white sugar and vegie oil for frying bean mixture. Puree one 15oz. can beans in food processor. To pureed beans add 1/2 c. white sugar - transfer to a well oiled fry pan and fry the beans until they reach the consistency of a thick paste. I used the full recipe of bean paste for this cake, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Perfect! My husband has a dairy allergy so I used a can of coconut milk (and then 1/2c of almond milk b/c I didn't want to open a second can to make up the difference). I also used rice oil instead of canola. No other changes and came out perfect! I felt like I was back in Taiwan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We love this recipe. My wife is Chinese and she makes this for holidays and even birthdays for the kids. We had lost the recipe and are so happy to have found it here. Bean paste is a rather common ingredient in Chinese deserts. Yes, bean paste is gooey. Hence, calling it a paste. Be careful to only use a half can of bean paste or it is overwhelming. My wife drops teaspoons of the paste about every inch or so into the cake batte; this allows for the taste of the bean paste without overwhelming the sticky cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Next time, I wouldn't even add the bean paste! When I had it, it was smushy and gooey.... Otherwise, just skip the bean paste and it tastes fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
omg i love red bean paste! thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a great Asian dessert. I cut down to 1/2 c of sugar instead of 1 and 1 c of milk instead of 2.5 c. And used 1 can of sweetened red bean paste. I've already made it twice. Also tried baking in cupcake pans (24 cupcakes). It does take a longer time to pour mixture into each individual cupcake pans. But I would still make it again w/ the cupcake pans because they'll bake faster (20 mins at 350 degrees) and there won't be any cutting involved. Additionally, these cupcakes are easier to reheat after wards (this is only good served warm). Enjoy! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great recipe, but a little different from what I'm used to. I added 1 tsp vanilla extract and used half the oil. I also used an entire can of bean paste. Otherwise this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States