Chinese Steamed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made this today and it turns out better than i expected. It was too sweet for me though. It turn out to be soft and spongy and my child love it too. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My mom used to make this for me all the time! Cause we are chinese.... Any way.... @lily. Cake flour is a special type of flour. I use the King Arthur brand. It really makes a difference. I think the texure is different or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
pretty authentic and tasty. came out a bit on the stiff side though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very similar to the ji dan gao my mom used to make as a kid. A little sweeter than I remember so I will cut back on the sugar next time. I didn't have any cake flour so I googled cake flour substitute and followed that. It turned out fine. Replaced almond extract with vanilla extract. Ended up steaming for about 45 minutes. Will make agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My Mom used to make steamed egg cake for us all the time. I miss her and many of the Chinese desserts and dishes that she used to make for us. Without any written recipes - I have been searching and trying different steamed cake recipes, this one came close but still not the same as hers, a little too sweet and too eggy, but still good, thus the 4 stars. I did not use vanilla nor almond extract - my Mom did not use any of the extracts in her steamed cakes. I also did not use the confectioners sugar. The steaming time definitely took longer than 20 minutes - more like 30+ minutes before the bottom of the cake was done. As for the reviewers who thought this was supposed to be Ma Lai Gao - it is not. Ma lai Gao is a different type of steamed cake. This recipe is more like the traditional Chinese steamed egg cake (steamed don gao). Used 4 egg yolks, 8 egg whites instead of 6 eggs - came out more fluffy and lighter. My daughter loves this steamed cake. Thank you Kevin Ryan for posting this recipe - it brings back great memory of my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was a very hard recipe to make, but I am no expert either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
it turned out kind of hard prolly because i didnt beat the eggs for 20 mins, i just beated it for about 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlackOrchid
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This came out very well for me. It was soft and spongy, and delicately sweet. It was slightly eggy though. Tips: Make sure the eggs are room temperature so that they form peaks easily. I used 2tbsp less of all purpose flour and it came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
edit 9/16/12: I've made this recipe many times with consistently good results. Today I baked it for the first time (375 for 30 min) with different results: the cake is firmer and drier, but there's a nice crust to the outside. I personally prefer the steamed method, but baking is faster to set up. --- I altered the recipe, hence why there are only 4 stars instead of 5. This cake tastes very good--it has the consistency of sponge cake, but with a slightly more eggy taste. I did not have a steamer, so instead I used a large pot and put large balls of foil on the bottom, filled the pot with water until it just covered the foil balls, then rested the cake pan on top of the foil. Be warned that the towel you use under the lid WILL become discolored--it looks like it'll be okay after washing it, but to be safe, use an old towel you don't mind getting dirty. I highly suggest you use that wax paper to line the pan, otherwise you will be taking your cake out of the pan in pieces. I also highly suggest you do not attempt this recipe unless you have an electric mixer. I didn't have almond or vanilla extract; instead I used orange juice. Plain ol' all-purpose flour tastes fine in my opinion. I used an 8 inch cake pan (the circular ones you use for making tiered cakes)--there was enough batter to make two cakes. I did not have the "goo-bottom" problem that other people have been having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
5 star taste, but 4 star on having to let it steam for almost twice as long as the directions said for it to cook... I did the toothpick test and thought it was done, but the very bottom, past the toothpick, was still goo... The flavor of this was really good. I could see having this with some fresh fruit, such as raspberries, and maybe using coconut extract. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States