Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by The Nielsens
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is my first try for Chinese Buns. I am so happy about the result. It’s time consuming, but it's worth it. I made 1.5" diameter buns (before raise) with 1/2 TBSP filling* inside, turned out about 2.5" buns, 2 bite size. I steamed 1/2 of buns and baked 350F/10mins. rest of them. Brush honey on buns still warm, looks tasty and gives you a little sweetness. You have to eat the day you baked; next day would be a little dry out. Don't worries they will be gone to people mouth so fast, no leftovers!!!!!! Wonderful recipe. Please see my photos. Filling: Sauté everything with 1TBSP oil 1/3lb ground chicken 1 TBSP hoi sin sauce (or soy sauce + 1 TBSP honey) 4 TBSP chopped mushrooms 1 chopped green onion Salt & pepper for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Nielsens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Not exactly what I've had at Dim Sum restaurants, but quite good. I accidentally added the baking powder with the rest of the ingredients (in step 2) so maybe that was the reason. I also followed the suggestions of another user and added a pinch of baking soda to the mix. I made half plain and added strawberries to the middle of the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was a very delicious recipe. However, the original measurements in the recipe itself is confusing, especially considering that one of the best selling points of this site is its ability to dynamically update the portions you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne R.
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made this recipe for a new years party I was having with some friends, and it came out great. It seriously satisfied a craving I was having for these things! Not exactly like you'd expect from any self-respecting dim sum restaurant, but very, very close. Definitely do all the stuff other users have said about baking soda; it helped to make the buns white and fluffy. I was a little scared when my buns didn't really rise too much after I had added the filling, but after a good ten minutes in the steamer, they were large, round, and very fluffy balls of goodness. I stuffed mine with sweet adzuki bean paste (it is very simple to make; I used a recipe from about.com), and though it made the buns look a bit speckled and messy (I wasn't the most assiduous bun-stuffer), they still tasted amazing. It's true that they aren't as sweet as you might expect, but they were still great and I would make them again in a heart beat (or several hours)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
these were good and not too difficult (just time consuming). I think they're slightly less sweet then what you get at dim sum...next time i'm adding a bit more sugar and substituting milk for water. also, you can bake these instead of steaming if you like baked bao better - just remember to brush the top with egg yolk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe makes less than half the amount listed, unless you want some really really tiny buns! Mine didn't turn out so well, probably b/c I assumed that 2 and 1/2 hr rising time was for room temp. So I just let it rise about an hr and a half in a warm oven. Big mistake. I'll try again and change my rating then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
if you're looking for dim sum buns, then i guess this is it, but if you want authentic chinese buns that authentic northern chinese people eat, this won't be it, because those buns would only need yeast and not baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superrose
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I've had many failures trying to make steamed buns and this was my first time I had success. Hooray, great recipe! I followed the recipe closely but ended up using 1/2 cup more flour when kneading b/c it was too sticky. I found that after 2 hours, my dough stopped rising. I put my dough in the oven at a warm temp and allowed it to rise. I used quickrise yeast. Very happy with the delicious fluffy result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I tried this recipe when I saw it on the TV call The Essence of Emeril. I love this recipe. Very authentic to my country. You can use char siu pork bought from Chinese restaurant. Is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent recipe, I followed the directions as written and used the pork filling recipe listed. They were such a hit, even with my fussy eater who doesn't like anything that is not hot dogs and mac 'n cheese, that I had to make a double batch the second day so we'd have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carriescows

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States