Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is time-intensive, but its worth it. We tried it with various fillings, but it just didn't go well. I like the plain buns best-without filling. They're moist and sweet. Just be sure to use the wax paper-otherwise they stick to the steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as indicated but halved it. It turned out wonderful. The key is to let it rise, let it rise, let it rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was my first time making steamed buns. Overall- very satisfactory & good results but PATIENCE is key! I followed the recipe to the T but made half of the buns with peppers & hot sauce stuffed inside. I made "lop cheung bao" with the other half of the dough (for the kids). I rolled out the dough into long sqiggly strips and then wrapped it around chinese sausages. My mother in law says she uses a similar recipe but replaces some of the warm water for warm milk instead. She says this gives it more flavor and an even smoother texture. I will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These were truly delicious and I never dreamed I could ever make these to taste so authentic. I filled the buns with a left over curried spam we had the previous night for dinner and they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe is very good! However it only makes 7 buns NOT 24. This is perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greatstudent24@aol.com
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I love this recipe. It is easy to make, and can be filled with just about any filling. You can also add different food coloring, to make them more festive or for the kids. My favs are red and green for christmas and black and orange for halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatstudent24@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
As everyone has already said, I used more flour than the recipe indicated. Also, I put some random herbs and spices in the boiling water and that added a bit of flavor. I also put a bit of season-all on the buns before steaming and that added a really good flavor! Oh, and I also steamed them longer than the recipe said. A lot of people have said you can't put them in the microwave to reheat them, but it worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Good recipe, though it is a bit on the salty side. Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Nielsens
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is my first try for Chinese Buns. I am so happy about the result. It’s time consuming, but it's worth it. I made 1.5" diameter buns (before raise) with 1/2 TBSP filling* inside, turned out about 2.5" buns, 2 bite size. I steamed 1/2 of buns and baked 350F/10mins. rest of them. Brush honey on buns still warm, looks tasty and gives you a little sweetness. You have to eat the day you baked; next day would be a little dry out. Don't worries they will be gone to people mouth so fast, no leftovers!!!!!! Wonderful recipe. Please see my photos. Filling: Sauté everything with 1TBSP oil 1/3lb ground chicken 1 TBSP hoi sin sauce (or soy sauce + 1 TBSP honey) 4 TBSP chopped mushrooms 1 chopped green onion Salt & pepper for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Nielsens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Not exactly what I've had at Dim Sum restaurants, but quite good. I accidentally added the baking powder with the rest of the ingredients (in step 2) so maybe that was the reason. I also followed the suggestions of another user and added a pinch of baking soda to the mix. I made half plain and added strawberries to the middle of the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States