Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
The dough tasted kind of weird. After reading some reviews I did make a couple of changes, I had to add about a tad bit over 1/4 cup flour to the dough. I thought 2.5-3 hrs rise time was way too much and saw that someone suggested 1.5 hrs. My first rise I did for just over 1.5 hrs, rose very well,but also deflated very well after touching it. I thought breaking the dough down to 24 was way too small, I only got 12. The 2nd rise was 30 mins, and they were decently sized....but again, as soon as I touched it, they deflated a little...and never rose again during the steaming. The recipe is simple, but yet it takes so long. I'm not sure I would try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great recipe! My buns turned out very light, but still with a little chewy texture, which I like. I agree with ball the other posts about needing more flour before I got a workable dough. But the timing tips and everything else was just spot on. Although I would advise coving your doug when it is proofing with a slightly warm and damp cheesecloth just to prevent it from drying out! Great results though, I made 16 nuns or so, and my three year old furnished them in one go.. I only got a little piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koopin
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I used warm milk instead of water and had to add a bit more flour, but everything else was perfect! I don't know if there is a person alive who likes this bread more than I do. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I've tried many dough recipes for steamed buns, and I swear by this recipe!!! All the others I have tried do no produce the same goodness and airy texture as this one. The dough is very sticky and requires additional flour to be added on when kneading (I used about 3/4 cups.) It really various and you just have to play it by ear. Added 1/2 tablespoon of baking soda to the dough to counteract the ''sour'' tasting due to long rise time. I placed my dough in a glass bowl and put the glass bowl in a large pot filled with warm/hot water and covered it. This allowed the dough to triple it's size within 1 1/2 hours (instead of 3...) I stuffed my buns with a meat/veggie mixture and let the buns rise for an extra 25 mins; steamed them in a large steamer and wow!!!!! ^____^ I ate like four buns in one sitting. So airy and light, fluffy. These buns didn't really come out super white (like in stores.) But it's just homemade buns, so I didn't really mind. However, I suggest adding a little bit of vineger to the water when steaming. Also, put some baking powder to your dough. And finally, squirt some lemon juice into your dough. This is produce some extra white buns! Love this recipe. TRY IT OUT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mukinsvivi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I never rate these recipes, but this one was so good and consistently gives me perfect chinese buns that I had to rate it. It was amazing! As a twist: baked a meatloaf with lipton soup recipe, then crumbled it and stuffed the bread before steaming. It was AMAZING! Seriously the best thing I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So... good! They're good plain, and they're good when you create your own fillings. I made these in the steam basket of my rice cooker, and they took about 15 minutes a batch. I got some inspiration from other websites, and made a meat filling with sausage (of all things,) scallions, mushrooms, hoisin sauce, and a little oil. Quite good, though I will try the standard pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My dough didn't rise enough the first rise and then not at all once I filled them. Not sure what went wrong. I bake bread all the time and don't have a problem with the yeast. I still steamed them and they weren't as bad as I thought they would be but probably won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I've tried different recipes for steamed buns, this is definitely the fluffiest! I filled mine with homemade red bean paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was super easy to follow and both batches I made came out perfect! It deffinitely took longer to rise because its winter here in WA and my house is knd of chilly but otherwise the dough tasted AMAZING!:) Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KokinaGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used splenda because I didn't have any white sugar on hand, and it came out too sweet for my taste; I think if I stuck to the regular sugar like the recipe calls for, it would have been fabulous. Followed this recipe and the one for the meat filling to make turkey left over steamed bun... came out fantastic!!! Excellent recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States