Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe produces very traditional and homely steam buns. It is a little different from what I am used to and I am wondering if rice flour can be used instead of all-purpose flour or a combination would work to produce the white fluffy steam buns I get back at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very good. After I made this recipe for many times, I figured out the easiest way. I mix the first 4 ingredients together first but don't have to let it stand for 30 min. Keep adding all the rest of ingredients and kneed. Devide the dough into 6-8 pieces (depents on how big you wanna make a each bun) and stuff with meat etc. Now let it stand for a while until the dough is doubled in size. Then steam for 15-18 min. depends on the size of the bun. It's easier and tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
OUTSTANDING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Pretty good recipe but still not as fluffy as I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I did two batches of baos. I added water and the exact sugar amt. the recipe called for in the first batch. I replaced water with milk and added 4 table spoons of sugar in the second batch. The second batch turned out to be more fluffly and closer to the original baos I had from home (Taiwan). For fillings, I seasoned some grounded beef and finely chopped green onions with sesame oil, white pepper, soy sauce and salt. To be adventurous, I also use italian sausages for fillings too! To make some sweet treat, i melted some chocolate chips and spread it onto a flat dough and rolled it up to make a chocolate buns! They are all very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
So cool and easy to cook rolls this way and very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Castleton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great recipe. Had to add a little more flour to make it work for me, but I loved it. Very soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
first attempt ever making steamed buns. turned out more or less like they do in store. pretty fine :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wonderful. Just like the ones I have when visiting Japan and when I lived in Hawaii. My brothers continually ask for them, even the littlest one and he doesn't like anything but cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
The bread was perfect! One star off because I don't see how you could get 24 decent sized buns (mine ended up the size of golf balls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States