Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Pretty good recipe but still not as fluffy as I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I did two batches of baos. I added water and the exact sugar amt. the recipe called for in the first batch. I replaced water with milk and added 4 table spoons of sugar in the second batch. The second batch turned out to be more fluffly and closer to the original baos I had from home (Taiwan). For fillings, I seasoned some grounded beef and finely chopped green onions with sesame oil, white pepper, soy sauce and salt. To be adventurous, I also use italian sausages for fillings too! To make some sweet treat, i melted some chocolate chips and spread it onto a flat dough and rolled it up to make a chocolate buns! They are all very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
So cool and easy to cook rolls this way and very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Castleton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great recipe. Had to add a little more flour to make it work for me, but I loved it. Very soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
first attempt ever making steamed buns. turned out more or less like they do in store. pretty fine :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wonderful. Just like the ones I have when visiting Japan and when I lived in Hawaii. My brothers continually ask for them, even the littlest one and he doesn't like anything but cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
The bread was perfect! One star off because I don't see how you could get 24 decent sized buns (mine ended up the size of golf balls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Pixxxie Pie
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
AWESOME RECIPE. The tips left by user Mukinsvivi ROCK & helped me ensure my steamed buns came out ultra tasty. NOTE: the dough does look very odd after first rise & it has a very sticky texture. You can punch it down just like the directions say & Mukinsvivi's advice to add about 3/4 cup xtra flour @ this point is spot on. Didn't utilize the entire 3/4 cup, but I came close. Eye the dough & at some point you know it looks right: the texture is smooth & elastic instead of sticky. To ensure I didn't overdo it, extra flour was added slowly. Adding a bit of lemon juice to the dough & vinegar to the boiling water is also great advice & my buns came out very white accordingly. Didn't use baking soda, but I did use baking powder (it contains baking soda already). My steamed buns came out large & yielded about 12. Prior to steaming I stuffed them w/shredded curry chicken, onions, potatoes, cabbage & bell peppers. My steaming pot is small so it took a while to steam all the buns & they wanted to stick to the steaming plate a bit. Once removed from the steaming plate I found it handy to sit the buns on a simple wrack of bamboo skewers that I placed on top of a plate. This allows bottom of buns to dry nicely. Sitting them directly on a plate gave me a bun w/ a slightly soggy bottom & placing on paper towel = bun w/ paper towel bits stuck to its bottom. Next time I make these I may make them w/ fruit stuffed inside just to see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Pixxxie Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
The dough tasted kind of weird. After reading some reviews I did make a couple of changes, I had to add about a tad bit over 1/4 cup flour to the dough. I thought 2.5-3 hrs rise time was way too much and saw that someone suggested 1.5 hrs. My first rise I did for just over 1.5 hrs, rose very well,but also deflated very well after touching it. I thought breaking the dough down to 24 was way too small, I only got 12. The 2nd rise was 30 mins, and they were decently sized....but again, as soon as I touched it, they deflated a little...and never rose again during the steaming. The recipe is simple, but yet it takes so long. I'm not sure I would try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great recipe! My buns turned out very light, but still with a little chewy texture, which I like. I agree with ball the other posts about needing more flour before I got a workable dough. But the timing tips and everything else was just spot on. Although I would advise coving your doug when it is proofing with a slightly warm and damp cheesecloth just to prevent it from drying out! Great results though, I made 16 nuns or so, and my three year old furnished them in one go.. I only got a little piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States