Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made these with a sweet red bean paste filling. They were good, but why do the surface get so bubbly and even? The steamed buns I have at my favourite dim sum place always have such a smooth, shiny, white surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
YUM! I was hoping to make barbecued pork buns like what you can buy at the Pike Place Market in Seattle, and this recipe was awesome. I made my own filling with a boiled, finely chopped pork chop mixed with equal parts barbecue sauce and teriyaki sauce and a tablespoon of sugar. I followed the recipe for the buns just like it said, except let it rise for 3 1/2 hours . It had tripled it's size in two hours, but the dough was awful- like taffy so sticky. I'm glad I didn't give up though because with the additional time, it was perfect. I only made half a batch of these and ended up making two really big buns with it, they were delicious. We ate them with Cilantro Fried Rice and egg drop soup and it was a great dinner. I'm also going to try these with different fillings, experimenting with fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
my 8 year old daughter and i made these. they reminded us of the steamed buns her philipino nanny used to make. We filled them with a chicken adobo mixture. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
These buns were so yummy! My husband loved them. We will use thhis recipe agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
These were a bit plain without any filling but still quite tasty. They definitely took a good bit of time for the end product, but they weren't too hard to make and my mom said they came out just like the ones she had while she was living in Asia! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gherkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prompton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Fabulous! I followed the recipe to a T and the flavor was just what I was hankering for. As someone else said, the rise time is kind of a pain, but I just put the dough in my closed microwave - NOT ON!! - which is the perfect temp for bread recipes and went about my business. I also left them alone a little longer for the last rise which gave me a lighter bun. I think the people ending up with lumpy buns are probably handling the dough too much and/or allowing water to touch them (drip on them) as they steam - not good. The only downside to this recipe...24 balls is WAAAY too many for this amount of dough. This recipe really only makes enough bread for 12 buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
wonderful recipe! i had every ingredient on hand... next time i'll probably make them bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I was looking for a way to use up my bbq pulled pork and this was a great recipe. Got lots of compliments from my co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Good receipe. I made 1/2 to test my family's reaction -- the kids loved them and were begging for more (which is impressive for my clan!) They are small and bite sized -- 1/2 receipe did yeild 12 1.5 - 2 inch diameter rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I haven't made these yet, but I just wanted to point out that you can throw leftovers in the freezer and freeze them for long periods of time. When you're ready to eat them, just put them in the refrigerator to thaw at least overnight and steam them for 10-15min. If you only want to eat a couple at a time, just fill a high saucepan with one inch water, put a wire rack at the center and steam the buns directly on the rack, or on a small saucer. DO NOT let the buns touch the water. Another alternative is to fry the leftover buns and serve them with condensed milk - the way traditional Chinese people eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States