Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Very nice. I live in China, and gave my husband and a friend of ours a taste. They both really liked it. They said it's different from the ones they are used to, which are no sweet at all, but they liked it better. I also used milk. I made them twice actually. The first time I followed others' advice and added the baking soda, to counteract the sourness, which really wasn't necessary. I ended up adding it, and then had all these brown spots and strips in the buns. Word of advice, if you add b soda, make sure you knead it in really well...I think that's what I did wrong. The second time I didn't add the soda at all, and it was still great. However, I still kneaded in the baking powder really well. It turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Delicious the best bun recipe, but maybe needed a bit more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This recipe makes buns exactly the same as my favourite restaurant. I found the recipe to be perfectly fine the way it is, although just in case I added a pinch of baking soda along with the milk (instead of 1/2c water) and flour to ward off any sour taste (not that I noticed any). I also added an extra teaspoon of sugar, the reastaurant I like makes their bun dough quite sweet. I did a couple plain as testers and the rest I filled with cha siu pork. They were light and fluffy, and slightly chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great! A lot of work but taste really good. For the filling, I used the Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork filling from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I kneaded the dough until it looked shiny and elastic but I think that made the buns too dense in the end. I'm also not a fan of the flavor - too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Trying to teach my kids different cultures and made this for the Chinese New Year. It was a process but, worth it! The whole family LOVED them. Thank you for a great homemade recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Yes this tasted good and it came out nicely - but it took 4.5 hours to make from start to finish - which was just more time than worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Turned out perfectly, just like I've had at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Just made this today and its not bad. Dough needs to be a little sweeter and i used 1/2 cup of milk instead of water. Next time will add more sugar and a little more salt. I compared this to the dough package from the store where you just add half cup of sugar and one cup of milk. Same texture as the store except the store brand is sweeter and not as bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this recipe last night, and was really impressed! I normally do not have any luck making yeast breads, but this was very easy. The buns turned out very fluffy and delicious. I split the dough into 12 parts. But after steaming them, I probably could have made more like 18 or 20 because there was a little too much dough compared to meat. I also would have not turned them onto the seam when cooked them, they didn't look as nice as the ones at the restaurants. I followed the recipe exactly as written but made my own BBQ pork filling. This recipe is a keeper, and next time I will experiment with different filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States