Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were the greatest! Made them just like the recipe above except I used rapid rise yeast so I only let it sit for 15 minutes the first time, an hour for the 2nd rise, and 15 minutes for the 3rd. I used ground pork, chopped garlic, & boiled cabbage for the filling. Used my electric rice cooker to steam them. Very very good i'll use this recipe all the time probably double it next time cuz i only ended up making around 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I hope to make this recipe as soon as possible. The problem is that I'm currently living in the Sichuan province and no one here seems to have any idea what baking powder is...I've described what its supposed to do, and wonder how they make the buns that i see street vendors selling everywhere without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I used this recipe to make Bao- the end result was absolutely heavenly. The dough was pretty tough to work with when it came to wrapping the filling (very sticky and easy to tear), so I ended up using more dough than I wanted to make each bao (six large bao total, but it was my first time handling the dough so I forgive myself for using so much :) ) and had to enlist the help of my husband. I also tried a variation on this recipe where I used whole wheat flour instead of white- even though the dough was much thicker and the end result was much heavier than the original recipe, this mixture was still very light for whole wheat dough and easier to handle. The wheat flour additionally gave it a sweeter taste. Both variations were excellent- definitely try this recipe for Bao!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe carefully and was not satisfied at the outcome at all. The dough tasted bland, extremely dry, a bit sour and it had a somewhat plastic-type texture as the final product - nothing like the buns served at dim sum or even ones that are purchased at the local supermarkets. I will try this recipe again. But instead of water, I'm using milk all the way (in hopes that it won't be so dry) and instead of using active dry yeast, I think I'm going to use self rising flour because the wait time is a killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Everything was just peachy except that I made a few exceptions myself that I should not have done like subsitute yeast with my own concoction and made one cup of flour rice flour... Let's just say It was a tad bit difficult to deal with. But still yummy and we'll definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Love this recipe! The measurements in the recipe worked for me, I didn't change anything and the buns were light, soft, and fluffy. Perhaps I live in a drier area than some of the other reviewers who needed to add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I love the texture of the chinese bun! It's exactly like this place on Washington in SF it doesn't have the slits on top and it's not the fluffy cakey dough that most dim sum places have. I had no problem with the dough. If it's too wet for you maybe the directions weren't followed? You ONLY add enough water to make a soft dough. Make them smaller than you think you should when they cook up they balloon in size! I also think maybe the first rise time is waay too long. Other then that it was a perfect dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocooned

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Great versatile recipe. I get 8 buns from this recipe; I tried to double the recipe to get more buns but it doesn´t work. By the time I get to steaming the last batch or two, they´re over-proofed, giving them a bland flavor (sugar turned to alcohol) and poor texture. The buns freeze well; just re-steam them until soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
A lot of work but well worth the effort. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These buns were perfectly fluffy and delicious. I didn't change anything in the recipe, but I paired the buns with some improvised chicken. I shredded chicken thighs and cooked them in hoisin sauce, where I added HBI garlic and soy sauce, then strained it. It was a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States