Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Koopin
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I used warm milk instead of water and had to add a bit more flour, but everything else was perfect! I don't know if there is a person alive who likes this bread more than I do. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I've tried many dough recipes for steamed buns, and I swear by this recipe!!! All the others I have tried do no produce the same goodness and airy texture as this one. The dough is very sticky and requires additional flour to be added on when kneading (I used about 3/4 cups.) It really various and you just have to play it by ear. Added 1/2 tablespoon of baking soda to the dough to counteract the ''sour'' tasting due to long rise time. I placed my dough in a glass bowl and put the glass bowl in a large pot filled with warm/hot water and covered it. This allowed the dough to triple it's size within 1 1/2 hours (instead of 3...) I stuffed my buns with a meat/veggie mixture and let the buns rise for an extra 25 mins; steamed them in a large steamer and wow!!!!! ^____^ I ate like four buns in one sitting. So airy and light, fluffy. These buns didn't really come out super white (like in stores.) But it's just homemade buns, so I didn't really mind. However, I suggest adding a little bit of vineger to the water when steaming. Also, put some baking powder to your dough. And finally, squirt some lemon juice into your dough. This is produce some extra white buns! Love this recipe. TRY IT OUT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mukinsvivi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I never rate these recipes, but this one was so good and consistently gives me perfect chinese buns that I had to rate it. It was amazing! As a twist: baked a meatloaf with lipton soup recipe, then crumbled it and stuffed the bread before steaming. It was AMAZING! Seriously the best thing I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So... good! They're good plain, and they're good when you create your own fillings. I made these in the steam basket of my rice cooker, and they took about 15 minutes a batch. I got some inspiration from other websites, and made a meat filling with sausage (of all things,) scallions, mushrooms, hoisin sauce, and a little oil. Quite good, though I will try the standard pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My dough didn't rise enough the first rise and then not at all once I filled them. Not sure what went wrong. I bake bread all the time and don't have a problem with the yeast. I still steamed them and they weren't as bad as I thought they would be but probably won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I've tried different recipes for steamed buns, this is definitely the fluffiest! I filled mine with homemade red bean paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was super easy to follow and both batches I made came out perfect! It deffinitely took longer to rise because its winter here in WA and my house is knd of chilly but otherwise the dough tasted AMAZING!:) Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KokinaGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used splenda because I didn't have any white sugar on hand, and it came out too sweet for my taste; I think if I stuck to the regular sugar like the recipe calls for, it would have been fabulous. Followed this recipe and the one for the meat filling to make turkey left over steamed bun... came out fantastic!!! Excellent recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Incredibly delicious! Used meat filling from this recipe, substituting gruond pork instead of chopped! worked well! Will definately make more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yum yum! Doubled everything but the yeast and added some baking soda to the dry ingredients as another reviewer suggested. I filled them with some Teriyaki chicken and got about 16 deli sized meat buns. The texture was perfect- just like the ones at the Asian markets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States