Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
These turned out great. There are some recipes out there that ask you to use bread flour. Do not use bread flour as the buns will turn out brown rather than white. Also, I would recommend using flour instead of baking soda. Baking soda will add a salty flavor to the dough which is unappetizing. Using more flour is a better choice. One thing missing from the recipe is what the dimension of a traditional chinese steamed bun is. This recipe produces buns about 2" wide. Chinese street vendor buns are almost twice this size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This will make 24 buns, but they are pretty tiny. The dough was very sticky and difficult to work with but I managed to fill all the buns with the judicious use of flour. It took forever, but I thought they were well worth it! Next time however, I will follow one the the other reviewer's suggestions and add baking soda and sugar. Also, I think larger buns would be easier to fill so I'd recommend making 12 instead of 24. I used my own beef/cabbage/ginger filling and my father said they reminded him of dim sum in Houston! (Houston has a large Asian population) But for that much work, next time I'm doubling the recipe and making a lot more. They disappear so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very nice recipe. I followed other reviewer's advice and added some baking soda and used warm milk instead of water. I wasn't even that fastidious while making them (I let the yeast proof an extra 30 minutes while I went to buy more flour), and they turned out great. You don't have to be an expert to get good results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
i don't think you should let it rise for 2-3 hours . thats too long , and it gives a kind of sour smell to the dough .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
While the recipe takes a while because of the rising, they come out fantastic. I've made these at least five times and every time they've been a hit. I've filled them with all sorts of things- pork, a fruity rice porridge, savory tofu... It takes a time or two to get the hang of how to fill them, but it's not too bad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe gave me the soft, fluffy texture I was looking for. Instead of 1/2 c. of warm water, I substituted 1/2 c. of warm milk which I think helped make the dough even more light and fluffy. I had to add about an extra 1/4 c. of flour because the dough was REALLY sticky and difficult to work with. The only bad thing about this recipe was that after the 3 hours for the 1st rising, I noticed that the dough had a somewhat sour aftertaste, like sourdough bread, which was more noticeable after steaming the bun (I steamed a golf ball sized amount of dough to test for texture and taste before I rolled and steamed the rest of the dough). So I added a pinch of baking SODA to counteract the sour flavor, and an extra 1/2 tsp of sugar because I personally like a sweeter dough. I used my own meat filling recipe to fill the bun. Yummy. UPDATE: *Tip* I've doubled the recipe with no problems -- use the same amount of yeast as in the original recipe (1 TB or approx. 1 envelope dry yeast), but double all the other ingredients. Came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Easy to follow recipe that gives expected results: light, fluffy steamed buns. We make them plain to serve with a meal or fill with a stirred custard as a desert bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Bland and dry. Does not make 24 buns, more or less 9 medium-sized ones only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I'll add to the chorus! Made the pork buns recipe that uses this dough (Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork Filling); plenty for four or five eaters, it made about 17 medium buns. Do not use bread flour; even with the AP suggested it was more glutinous/chewy than I'd like, though that might be because I only had bread machine (fast rise) yeast! I skipped the first step, as per the yeast directions, and just mixed everything all the ingredients from step 1 AND step 2 together at once before leaving it for 3 hours in microwave. This worked fine. Cooked with a saucepan and steamer set, doesn't have to be a wok. Very good flavour, texture was just a tad off, but it'll be our recipe...for when we have lots of time, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was a great recipe for dumplings. Lightly sweet, soft and chewy - just the right texture. Unfortunately the filling recipe I used failed to do these justice, so I'm off in search of another filling. I did have to add a couple extra tablespoons of flour to get it kneadable at first, but otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States