Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
While the recipe takes a while because of the rising, they come out fantastic. I've made these at least five times and every time they've been a hit. I've filled them with all sorts of things- pork, a fruity rice porridge, savory tofu... It takes a time or two to get the hang of how to fill them, but it's not too bad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe gave me the soft, fluffy texture I was looking for. Instead of 1/2 c. of warm water, I substituted 1/2 c. of warm milk which I think helped make the dough even more light and fluffy. I had to add about an extra 1/4 c. of flour because the dough was REALLY sticky and difficult to work with. The only bad thing about this recipe was that after the 3 hours for the 1st rising, I noticed that the dough had a somewhat sour aftertaste, like sourdough bread, which was more noticeable after steaming the bun (I steamed a golf ball sized amount of dough to test for texture and taste before I rolled and steamed the rest of the dough). So I added a pinch of baking SODA to counteract the sour flavor, and an extra 1/2 tsp of sugar because I personally like a sweeter dough. I used my own meat filling recipe to fill the bun. Yummy. UPDATE: *Tip* I've doubled the recipe with no problems -- use the same amount of yeast as in the original recipe (1 TB or approx. 1 envelope dry yeast), but double all the other ingredients. Came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Easy to follow recipe that gives expected results: light, fluffy steamed buns. We make them plain to serve with a meal or fill with a stirred custard as a desert bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Bland and dry. Does not make 24 buns, more or less 9 medium-sized ones only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I'll add to the chorus! Made the pork buns recipe that uses this dough (Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork Filling); plenty for four or five eaters, it made about 17 medium buns. Do not use bread flour; even with the AP suggested it was more glutinous/chewy than I'd like, though that might be because I only had bread machine (fast rise) yeast! I skipped the first step, as per the yeast directions, and just mixed everything all the ingredients from step 1 AND step 2 together at once before leaving it for 3 hours in microwave. This worked fine. Cooked with a saucepan and steamer set, doesn't have to be a wok. Very good flavour, texture was just a tad off, but it'll be our recipe...for when we have lots of time, haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was a great recipe for dumplings. Lightly sweet, soft and chewy - just the right texture. Unfortunately the filling recipe I used failed to do these justice, so I'm off in search of another filling. I did have to add a couple extra tablespoons of flour to get it kneadable at first, but otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is the best steamed bun recipe I've ever tried. I stuffed it with red bean paste like what I used to eat at home in Singapore and it tastes way better than that. My picky-eater kids and husband like it too. I followed the recipe quite closely....except that I put everything into my bread machine to churn and it needed more flour than stated....but then measurements in cups are never really accurate. But I knew what to look out for and it turned out perfect. I don't have a bamboo steamer (it will be better in a bamboo steamer becoz of the fragrance from the bamboo), so I used Alton Brown's brilliant idea of poking holes in my disposable pie pan and placing it on top of a metal cookie cutter in a wok. I didn't line it with paper coz I didn't have that either and it didn't really stick....at least not enough to bother me...and I hate cutting small pieces of squares. Overall, we LOVE it. It's definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made these with a sweet red bean paste filling. They were good, but why do the surface get so bubbly and even? The steamed buns I have at my favourite dim sum place always have such a smooth, shiny, white surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
YUM! I was hoping to make barbecued pork buns like what you can buy at the Pike Place Market in Seattle, and this recipe was awesome. I made my own filling with a boiled, finely chopped pork chop mixed with equal parts barbecue sauce and teriyaki sauce and a tablespoon of sugar. I followed the recipe for the buns just like it said, except let it rise for 3 1/2 hours . It had tripled it's size in two hours, but the dough was awful- like taffy so sticky. I'm glad I didn't give up though because with the additional time, it was perfect. I only made half a batch of these and ended up making two really big buns with it, they were delicious. We ate them with Cilantro Fried Rice and egg drop soup and it was a great dinner. I'm also going to try these with different fillings, experimenting with fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
my 8 year old daughter and i made these. they reminded us of the steamed buns her philipino nanny used to make. We filled them with a chicken adobo mixture. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States