Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These buns were perfectly fluffy and delicious. I didn't change anything in the recipe, but I paired the buns with some improvised chicken. I shredded chicken thighs and cooked them in hoisin sauce, where I added HBI garlic and soy sauce, then strained it. It was a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I baked these instead of steamed. They were at 350 for about 30 minutes. Prior to baking I put an egg wash on them. Once I pulled them out of the oven I put a tablespoon of honey on top and brushed it around. They were very good. I am going to cook them again but at a little higher temp to see if I can get them even crisper. Filling was of my own creation of smoked pork butt and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, California, USA
Living In: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Tasted good but was not like any bao I've ever had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
easy to make and extremely delicious! used milk instead of water and added an extra teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the good stuff! Just like you get at the teacake places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. It came out texturally perfect, and delicious. I did have to incorporate a bit more flour, as the dough tended to be somewhat sticky. It had no discernible effect on the product. The buns were a hit, and next time I do intend to double the recipe, as they disappeared, literally, in moments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Wow, this is incredibly authentic, and one of the easiest bun recipes I have ever prepared. I added a little more flour (1/4 cup), enough so that the dough was not so sticky. For those who complain the dough is too wet - just use common sense and add a bit more flour until the dough is not sticking to the sides of the bowl - the final steamed bun will not taste any drier/denser because of the added flour. I made 24 filled buns (in accordance with the recipe), and they turned out the size of a slightly flattened tennis ball (there was about a tablespoon of filling in each). Anyone can make this - I rarely work with yeast and so was a bit nervous, but the instructions are very clear and the product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE do not use this recipe. I made this thinking it was the correct dough. There seems to be not enough flour in it and makes an awful dough. Too sticky and not worth the time. I am a professional chef and was not pleased with the product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I wish the bun is a little bit sweeter. But despite my own doubts looking at it, the taste after the steaming is done is PRETTY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was enough to satisfy my craving, but keep in mind it's not exactly dim sum quality. The dough is very sticky, and I had to almost double the flour. Personally, I don't mind if it's not super white because it really comes down to the flavor. I might try this again if another craving hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States