Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Just made this today and its not bad. Dough needs to be a little sweeter and i used 1/2 cup of milk instead of water. Next time will add more sugar and a little more salt. I compared this to the dough package from the store where you just add half cup of sugar and one cup of milk. Same texture as the store except the store brand is sweeter and not as bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this recipe last night, and was really impressed! I normally do not have any luck making yeast breads, but this was very easy. The buns turned out very fluffy and delicious. I split the dough into 12 parts. But after steaming them, I probably could have made more like 18 or 20 because there was a little too much dough compared to meat. I also would have not turned them onto the seam when cooked them, they didn't look as nice as the ones at the restaurants. I followed the recipe exactly as written but made my own BBQ pork filling. This recipe is a keeper, and next time I will experiment with different filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
After reading all 106 reviews, I decided to try this recipe, with my own filling and whole wheat flour. I started as the recipe stated, but I think a 1/4 cup of wheat flour was too much, because it became very, very thick. I added more warm water. Though the bag of flour did state to only use 25-50% of what was called for in recipes using APF, I found that I ended up using about the same amount as this recipe calls for, which makes sense since most of the more lengthy reviews said they had to use between 1/4 c. - 3/4c. more. The dough was still very sticky, and I couldn't get it smooth (may have been the flour), but I let it rise for 2 1/2 hours as the recipe stated. Since my goal was to create a healthier version of the steamed buns I used to get at the Hong Kong Market in New Orleans, I only got about 7 buns out of this, and they weren't as big as I would have liked. During the second rising, they didn't appear to rise at all, and they only rose a little while steaming. This might have been me, I may have over kneaded them. However, I found that while filling them, the dough was elastic enough to allow me to pack it in, and using a spoon to get the edges thinner than the center was a good tip! I also added some vinegar to the water before setting the buns to steam, which I think kept the buns sweet. A tip for those using steam plates: I put mine in a large pasta pot and sprayed it with cooking spray, rather than using wax paper squares. It worked perfectly, no sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Chase City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe really only makes 12 stuffable buns. If you get 24, i still never got more then 20, they are incredibly small even after allowing them to rise. if you don't intend to stuff them then you will not have an issue. I agree with other reviewers, adding more sugar does help. Generally a good start off recipe and easily adjusted to suit your needs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aley319

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Even though this was a little time consuming, I had a day free, so I made them. They turned out great. I had to makeshift a steamer because college budgets are limited. These were so fluffy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbradr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Not bad but not the perfect recipe for hum bao bun. The dough was very sticky and difficult to handle. I had to add 1/4 + cups flour to handle dough. I also added extra sugar (1tbs) and it still didn't taste sweet like at dim sum. Thanks anyway, will continue to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilPop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I read somewhere that you can wrap the bamboo steamer cover in a small towel before putting on top for the 15 minute steaming and that will stop the condensation dripping on the buns while they steam. You can use any kind of meat or dessert filling. A BBQ pork or shredded coconut in a custard, etc. THAT IS MY FAVORITE.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M&M
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
The best ones I have ever made and had. Don't need to leave the buns in the steamer too long at all. Too much steam (moisture) will ruin the outside texture of the buns. I did not add the 1/4 cup flour with the yeast. It turned out perfect though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe produces very traditional and homely steam buns. It is a little different from what I am used to and I am wondering if rice flour can be used instead of all-purpose flour or a combination would work to produce the white fluffy steam buns I get back at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very good. After I made this recipe for many times, I figured out the easiest way. I mix the first 4 ingredients together first but don't have to let it stand for 30 min. Keep adding all the rest of ingredients and kneed. Devide the dough into 6-8 pieces (depents on how big you wanna make a each bun) and stuff with meat etc. Now let it stand for a while until the dough is doubled in size. Then steam for 15-18 min. depends on the size of the bun. It's easier and tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States