Chinese Steamed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These disappear faster than I can make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Followed the metric measurements exactly for a half batch. Dough was way too wet and sticky. Instead of adding flour I went with what it was. It rose but collapsed catastrophically and got even more sticky. I just tossed the whole lot out without even trying for a second rise. It was clearly a wrong recipe. Unfortunately, I did not read the poor reviews first or I would have seen what I was experiencing before having to experience it. This is the second asian AllRecipes recipe that has failed me. I do not think I will attempt another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Very nice. I live in China, and gave my husband and a friend of ours a taste. They both really liked it. They said it's different from the ones they are used to, which are no sweet at all, but they liked it better. I also used milk. I made them twice actually. The first time I followed others' advice and added the baking soda, to counteract the sourness, which really wasn't necessary. I ended up adding it, and then had all these brown spots and strips in the buns. Word of advice, if you add b soda, make sure you knead it in really well...I think that's what I did wrong. The second time I didn't add the soda at all, and it was still great. However, I still kneaded in the baking powder really well. It turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Delicious the best bun recipe, but maybe needed a bit more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This recipe makes buns exactly the same as my favourite restaurant. I found the recipe to be perfectly fine the way it is, although just in case I added a pinch of baking soda along with the milk (instead of 1/2c water) and flour to ward off any sour taste (not that I noticed any). I also added an extra teaspoon of sugar, the reastaurant I like makes their bun dough quite sweet. I did a couple plain as testers and the rest I filled with cha siu pork. They were light and fluffy, and slightly chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Great! A lot of work but taste really good. For the filling, I used the Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork filling from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I kneaded the dough until it looked shiny and elastic but I think that made the buns too dense in the end. I'm also not a fan of the flavor - too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Trying to teach my kids different cultures and made this for the Chinese New Year. It was a process but, worth it! The whole family LOVED them. Thank you for a great homemade recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Haslam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Yes this tasted good and it came out nicely - but it took 4.5 hours to make from start to finish - which was just more time than worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Turned out perfectly, just like I've had at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States