Chinese Steamed Buns with Meat Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I spent a good part of my childhood growing up in Southeast Asia. One of my favorite memories is buying Bao Tzes (Chinese Steamed Buns) at the stalls at the Wednesday Night Market in Singapore. This recipe is the real thing and brought all those wonderful memories rushing back to mind. I tested it out on my family all of them Bao Tze connoisseurs and they raved over them! It is a little work to make, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
These dumpling-like buns are absolutely delish. I made mine about the size of a fist, though, and there was no WAY I could have squeezed 24 out of the dough. It turned out to be more like 6. That's okay though; I liked that there was a higher meat to dough ratio. My boyfriend and I just polished off the first batch; I did the dishes and am starting a second! Also, I didn't mix the shrimp in with the pork, but I made seperate pork buns and shrimp buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
this was my first attempt at making these. it turned out great! i loved the semi-sweet taste of the buns and its soft, lush texture. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YLUCIANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
It's just like the ones u have at the restaurant. Really yummy, very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe~!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
These came out pretty poorly for me, but i've never tried to make anything like this before ,so I think it might've been moreso me then the recipe...definately a tough one to put together correctly. I couldn't get dough thin enough, and the filling was simply not all that yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Absolutely wonderful recipe Carol. The kids flipped over these delicious and authentic tasting buns! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
The buns were decent, but the filling was awful. If there is a next time, I will try the BBQ pork filling instead. This is a time consuming but fun recipe. Rather than 24 buns, I made 11, each the size of a small fist. This allows more meat filling, which is usually my favorite part. On step 4, I squeezed the meat mixture into a small compact ball, to make enclosing it with dough easier. Also, I used a spoon sprayed with PAM to push out/extend the edges of my circle, so the bottom was thicker. This also made the enclosure easier. I don't have a steam wok, so I used a pressure cooker. I boiled an inch or two of water, had to coffee mugs inside, and had the holed plate on top. Then I put the buns on top for steaming- worked great! Changes of recipe: I substituted sherry for rice wine and didn't include the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
These turned out great. We used different fillings such as chicken, crag meat and even ground beef. These can be time consuming, use the ing. that you like. After trial and error we loved them, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This filling was just ok. The dough recipe however, I highly recommend. I omitted the shrimp, due to personal taste, and I substituted the rice wine for sherry. I grated my ginger root instead of mincing and doubled the amount called for, but the ginger strength was still wimpy. I think these would be better wrapped in wonton wrappers and fried, then dipped in hoisin or peanut sauce. The flavor in a steam bun just left too much to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I grew up in Hawaii and the buns were just like the ones I grew up with. We call it manapua and since I no longer live in Hawaii this was one of the foods I've craved. Now I can have it...when I'm ready to do some work! One thing that I encountered when making the dough was that it was quite sticky when kneading. I didn't want to add too much flour when kneading. Did anyone else have that same problem? Also, when making it, I put too much filling and I made the dough too thin so when I steamed it, the meat was showing through. It suppose to be all bun til you bite inside to get a wonderful mouthful of filling with the yummy bun. Otherwise, this was great and I'm excited I can make it now! follow up: I wanted to add, they're great to make a bunch at a time, freeze it in bags. When reheating, wrap in a damp cloth or papertowel and microwave for about a minute (usually less).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States