Chinese Steamed Buns with Meat Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I should have made double, it was delicious :). I did use shredded beef roast instead of the pork & shrimp, but it still came out fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
i had such high hopes for these buns but they were a disaster. the texture of the dough came out dense & inconsistent, not pillowy like they should be. i will just buy the frozen ones from now on. much easier than making them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Perfect. Reminds me of the ones I've had when I visited Japan and lived in Hawaii. Even my brothers loved them and asked for them again. I've also used chicken filling, when I've run out of pork and they were still good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by victoria
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I pan fried the buns instead of steam them. To pan fry the buns: Heat a nonstick skillet over medium heat with 1 T oil. Put the buns in and fry for 1 minute. pure 1/4 cup water into the skillet, cover and cook until there is no more liquid left. Remove the cover and cook until the button of the buns are golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These are delicious. The only thing I changed is that I did not use the shrimp and instead of chopped pork I used ground pork. My picky husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
awesome recipe! very tasty filling. Used ground pork instead of chopped and it worked out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this with chicken instead of pork and it was pretty darn good, though much leaner. I would also add Chinese five-spice, which gives it an astoundingly fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
the filling is sooooo delicious!!! i'm going to use the filling to make egg rolls sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I grew up in Hawaii and the buns were just like the ones I grew up with. We call it manapua and since I no longer live in Hawaii this was one of the foods I've craved. Now I can have it...when I'm ready to do some work! One thing that I encountered when making the dough was that it was quite sticky when kneading. I didn't want to add too much flour when kneading. Did anyone else have that same problem? Also, when making it, I put too much filling and I made the dough too thin so when I steamed it, the meat was showing through. It suppose to be all bun til you bite inside to get a wonderful mouthful of filling with the yummy bun. Otherwise, this was great and I'm excited I can make it now! follow up: I wanted to add, they're great to make a bunch at a time, freeze it in bags. When reheating, wrap in a damp cloth or papertowel and microwave for about a minute (usually less).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This filling was just ok. The dough recipe however, I highly recommend. I omitted the shrimp, due to personal taste, and I substituted the rice wine for sherry. I grated my ginger root instead of mincing and doubled the amount called for, but the ginger strength was still wimpy. I think these would be better wrapped in wonton wrappers and fried, then dipped in hoisin or peanut sauce. The flavor in a steam bun just left too much to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States