Chinese Steamed Buns with Barbecued Pork Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was a good recipe, but I think some of the directions were a little bit off: 1) 1/2 lb. of pork was much too little for 24 buns. I bought 1 lb just to be safe and still didn't have enough filling to go around. 2) The directions read 2 tablespoons of filling were to be put in each bun, but there were probably only 8 tablespoons of filling total; I think it should have read 1-2 teaspoons - or 1 tablespoon at the maximum, if you made extra filling. 3) Coating the bowl with 2 tablespoons of oil seemed excessive to me; I just used 1 and it worked fine. After I made these changes, things went smoothly and the char siu bao turned out great; a lot like the ones from back home! I made my own char siu with a packaged marinade mix instead of trying to find it at a store. If you want tasty dim sum, try this one out; if I can do it anyone can :) Thank you so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a fantastic dim sum recipe! To cut down on time I just used my bread machine to knead the dough. I was unable to purchase the asian barbequed pork, but I just marinaded the pork in hoisin sauce and broiled it. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
YUUUUM!!! Wow...I can't believe these turned out sOo good! They took quite a while and a lot of effort (I don't have a bread machine so I had to knead myself). But, it was well worth it!! I could not find any bbq pork either so I just took a pork loin and cooked it all day in the crock pot with lots of chinese bbq sauce & garlic. Very good on it's own by the way! Then, followed the directions exactly. best Pork Buns I have ever had!! My picky boyfriend thought they were excellent as well! ThanXx sOo much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinInVegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. Very easy. However, I doubled the amount of filling and still ran short. Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
A decent dish; I'd be willing to cook it again. Although the filling was a tad too sweet, I nevertheless got used to it and ended up liking it more than the filling of some buns I've bought in restaurants. The dough was a little dry, yeasty, and bland, not quite as sweet as most buns, but not really bothersome. Like another reviewer observed, the directions are incorrect. I cut the dough recipe in half without changing the quantity of meat and even then I ended up with a bit more dough than I needed. In step one, the yeast-flour-water mixture never bubbled. In step four, follow the directions and put only two tablespoons of filling in each bun. (I was tempted to put in more. I was wrong.) If you use enough dough in a bun so that you can put in, say, two heaping tablespoons comfortably, the bun will end up uncomfortably large. And you'll also end up with an imbalance between meat and bread in each bite. I also learned that one should make the dough thinner than one thinks. (The dough rises a lot.) But the hardest thing about making buns is getting the dough to be a uniform thickness on all sides. I guess I just need to practice how to make a bun with a good balance of meat and dough everywhere. Following my revised recipe makes two _main course_ servings. If you freeze the buns before steaming, they freeze well. Incidentally, it took me 2.5 hours to cook from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
this recipe is a keeper. Just a note, to make the bun texture softer and smoother, use cake flour (you can buy in asian store), and to make the taste richer, use milk instead of water. These 2 changes make the bun really supple and beautifully shaped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Oh man, so good! I used leftover pulled pork I had in the freezer and drained it. I then added Hoisin sauce and the other sauces stated in the recipe. Hubby brought a bamboo steamer last night, so I just had to test it out. DH said they tasted like authentic Dim Sum. Thanks so much Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This was OK ... but not like the ones I used to get in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I have made these a few times. They are very time consuming but they are taste. My husband loves them and I make whenever he requests them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My bread machine's dough cycle made short work of the dough because it is a little on the sticky side. I couldn't find Chinese barbecue pork so I took a previous reviewer's suggestion of marinating pork tenderloin in hoisin sauce and chinese five spice powder. The glaze took a while to thicken so I ended up adding 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States