Chinese Steamed Buns with Barbecued Pork Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a fantastic dim sum recipe! To cut down on time I just used my bread machine to knead the dough. I was unable to purchase the asian barbequed pork, but I just marinaded the pork in hoisin sauce and broiled it. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
This was OK ... but not like the ones I used to get in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was a good recipe, but I think some of the directions were a little bit off: 1) 1/2 lb. of pork was much too little for 24 buns. I bought 1 lb just to be safe and still didn't have enough filling to go around. 2) The directions read 2 tablespoons of filling were to be put in each bun, but there were probably only 8 tablespoons of filling total; I think it should have read 1-2 teaspoons - or 1 tablespoon at the maximum, if you made extra filling. 3) Coating the bowl with 2 tablespoons of oil seemed excessive to me; I just used 1 and it worked fine. After I made these changes, things went smoothly and the char siu bao turned out great; a lot like the ones from back home! I made my own char siu with a packaged marinade mix instead of trying to find it at a store. If you want tasty dim sum, try this one out; if I can do it anyone can :) Thank you so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This a an an easy recipe. I used chicken instead of pork and made a few without anything in it and my toddler son loves it for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Excellent filling for the buns, I only tried the meat as I found pre-made buns at my local Chinese store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My bread machine's dough cycle made short work of the dough because it is a little on the sticky side. I couldn't find Chinese barbecue pork so I took a previous reviewer's suggestion of marinating pork tenderloin in hoisin sauce and chinese five spice powder. The glaze took a while to thicken so I ended up adding 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
EXCELLENT DIM SUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. Very easy. However, I doubled the amount of filling and still ran short. Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
YUUUUM!!! Wow...I can't believe these turned out sOo good! They took quite a while and a lot of effort (I don't have a bread machine so I had to knead myself). But, it was well worth it!! I could not find any bbq pork either so I just took a pork loin and cooked it all day in the crock pot with lots of chinese bbq sauce & garlic. Very good on it's own by the way! Then, followed the directions exactly. best Pork Buns I have ever had!! My picky boyfriend thought they were excellent as well! ThanXx sOo much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinInVegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Oh man, so good! I used leftover pulled pork I had in the freezer and drained it. I then added Hoisin sauce and the other sauces stated in the recipe. Hubby brought a bamboo steamer last night, so I just had to test it out. DH said they tasted like authentic Dim Sum. Thanks so much Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States