Chinese Steamed Buns with Barbecued Pork Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a fantastic dim sum recipe! To cut down on time I just used my bread machine to knead the dough. I was unable to purchase the asian barbequed pork, but I just marinaded the pork in hoisin sauce and broiled it. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My bread machine's dough cycle made short work of the dough because it is a little on the sticky side. I couldn't find Chinese barbecue pork so I took a previous reviewer's suggestion of marinating pork tenderloin in hoisin sauce and chinese five spice powder. The glaze took a while to thicken so I ended up adding 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch to speed up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I made this recipe for a Birthday surprise for my best friend. This is one of her favorite foods! The recipe was very easy, though I didn't know where to buy the Asian BBQ pork so I purchase pork chops and added hoisen sauce. E did not use sesame oil or the oyster sauce. She doesn't like onions so I used only a tiny sprinkle of dried minced onions. She LOVED the buns and ate the entire 24 buns within a week! She said that the bun part was perfect and just the right consistency but that the meat needed a little more sweetness. (Probably because I didn't use the Asian pork.) I will make them again but add a bit more sugar for her taste. Thanks for this AWESOME recipe!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe. Very easy. However, I doubled the amount of filling and still ran short. Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Excellent filling for the buns, I only tried the meat as I found pre-made buns at my local Chinese store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
EXCELLENT DIM SUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Perfect recipe, my chinese parents were quite impressed and made another batch! Tastes even better than the ones I usually get from chinese bakeries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
YUUUUM!!! Wow...I can't believe these turned out sOo good! They took quite a while and a lot of effort (I don't have a bread machine so I had to knead myself). But, it was well worth it!! I could not find any bbq pork either so I just took a pork loin and cooked it all day in the crock pot with lots of chinese bbq sauce & garlic. Very good on it's own by the way! Then, followed the directions exactly. best Pork Buns I have ever had!! My picky boyfriend thought they were excellent as well! ThanXx sOo much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinInVegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I have made these a few times. They are very time consuming but they are taste. My husband loves them and I make whenever he requests them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
this recipe is a keeper. Just a note, to make the bun texture softer and smoother, use cake flour (you can buy in asian store), and to make the taste richer, use milk instead of water. These 2 changes make the bun really supple and beautifully shaped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States