Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Add the first step which is grind or finely chop pork, then add other ingredients. This is very different from the Char Siu pork I have had but this is tasty. Kids will like the little buns and the sweet taste. I made this in my pressure cooker and put the buns on the rack and took the gasket out of the pressure cooker. It worked fine as a steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I modified this recipe to be vegetarian- my husband has never had bao because he's veg. (whereas I am a dim sum fanatic), so I decided to fix this problem. I made the bao using seitan (cut up very finely and marinaded overnight) as a substitute for the pork- and he nearly polished off all 12 bao that I made! =) I also cheated and used a store bought flour recipe- which actually turned out really well. You can find it at most Asian food stores. The brand I used was 'D and D Gold product' on the front, in addition to some pics. of bao, it says, 'Bot Lam Bahn Bao Saigon', in big letters. =) With the premixed flour, it only took me about 2 hours once I had the dough mixed to make the bao. (20 minutes to cook each round of 4 bao) I'm sooo happy! Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Carol certainly has some really good recipes on this site. This time I combined her two filling recipes for her buns using both the pork and the shrimp. I had leftover frozen fresh ham from our Christmas dinner, which when I sauteed it with the shrimp, used Hoisen Sauce. I absolutely love that stuff. The buns were incredible, however, because I don't remember what I did last time, I should have sprayed the waxed paper with PAM because they really stuck. I had to reseal them which of course was not so fun. Anyway, these babies were so incredible and once more, I thank you Carol for a tremendous asian dinner tonight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
I have wanting to try this at home for a long time! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
MMMMMMM Yummy!!! I was craving for "dim sum" from my home country and was really happy when I found this recipe. Tried it today and wow!!!!! it was really good.....just like the steamed buns from back home. My husband thought they were delicious too. I made the dough by hand and had to add about 1 more cup of flour like one reviewer did. Thanks so much for the recipe, Carol. Now, I don't feel so homesick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Made plenty for four or five eaters, about 17 medium buns. Do not use bread flour; even with the AP suggested it was more glutinous/chewy than I'd like, though that might be because I only had bread machine (fast rise) yeast! I skipped the first dough step, as per the yeast directions, and just mixed everything all the ingredients from step 1 AND step 2 together at once before leaving it for 3 hours in microwave. This worked fine. Left filling mixed overnight in the fridge. I subbed ordinary onions for shallots which wasn't good - the almost-raw onions caused indigestion. Could use green onions. Cooked with a saucepan and steamer set, doesn't have to be a wok. Do 15 minutes at most or they get chewy. Very good flavour, dough texture was a tad off, but it'll be our recipe...for when we have lots of time, haha. Oh, the filling is very sweet, which is how I like it, but if you want more savoury, just be sure to use a sweetish BBQ sauce and then leave out the white sugar entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were time-consuming and didn't taste half as good as the ones from the local market. In fact the sauce was way off. They weren't horrible, and I'm sure it was something I did to make them taste and look weird. Oh well, I'll just keep going to the market!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly for the bun part, but like other reviewers have mentioned, I had to use more flour when kneading...it was way too sticky. I placed the seam side down onto the wax paper and at first they didn't look too great but by the time it came to steam them they were all smoothed out. Came out fluffy, moist and delicious. A bit time consuming but worth it. I made a bit of a bigger bun and it made 12. I didn't use the bbq pork recipe and instead picked up 1/2 lb of char siu and I asked for extra sauce. Just chopped it up and mixed with the sauce and stuffed the buns with it. The only bummer is they aren't so good when reheated in the microwave a day later and I even did the damp paper towel trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Make sure you dice the pork loin to make wrapping easier. My only complain is that the marinade turned out very watery and made it really difficult to scoop into the steam buns dough without marinade dripping all over. Could just be my poor bun wrapping skills, but I noticed flour in Direction #1, but didn't see any in the ingredient list. Could be why my marinade was so watery... Also, I don't have wax paper and used foil instead and the bun didn't stick to the foil at all, even though I didn't oil the foil. Will attempt this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I loved these! My husband lived in Taiwan for a couple of years and he thought they were close to how he use to eat them. I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I am going to make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States