Chinese Steamed Buns with BBQ Pork Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
I have wanting to try this at home for a long time! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
MMMMMMM Yummy!!! I was craving for "dim sum" from my home country and was really happy when I found this recipe. Tried it today and wow!!!!! it was really good.....just like the steamed buns from back home. My husband thought they were delicious too. I made the dough by hand and had to add about 1 more cup of flour like one reviewer did. Thanks so much for the recipe, Carol. Now, I don't feel so homesick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Carol certainly has some really good recipes on this site. This time I combined her two filling recipes for her buns using both the pork and the shrimp. I had leftover frozen fresh ham from our Christmas dinner, which when I sauteed it with the shrimp, used Hoisen Sauce. I absolutely love that stuff. The buns were incredible, however, because I don't remember what I did last time, I should have sprayed the waxed paper with PAM because they really stuck. I had to reseal them which of course was not so fun. Anyway, these babies were so incredible and once more, I thank you Carol for a tremendous asian dinner tonight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Very authentic! Based on a few of the reviews, I made 12 larger buns instead of 24 and steamed them for the full 20 minutes. I only had about 1.5 hours to let the dough rise, but they still turned out great. Instead of wax paper, I used parchment paper and had no trouble getting them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I loved these! My husband lived in Taiwan for a couple of years and he thought they were close to how he use to eat them. I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I am going to make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I modified this recipe to be vegetarian- my husband has never had bao because he's veg. (whereas I am a dim sum fanatic), so I decided to fix this problem. I made the bao using seitan (cut up very finely and marinaded overnight) as a substitute for the pork- and he nearly polished off all 12 bao that I made! =) I also cheated and used a store bought flour recipe- which actually turned out really well. You can find it at most Asian food stores. The brand I used was 'D and D Gold product' on the front, in addition to some pics. of bao, it says, 'Bot Lam Bahn Bao Saigon', in big letters. =) With the premixed flour, it only took me about 2 hours once I had the dough mixed to make the bao. (20 minutes to cook each round of 4 bao) I'm sooo happy! Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I made this for the first time today. It was soooo gooood. I did not make it with the BBQ pork because I was a little short on time instead I used some BBQ ribs meat that I got at the store. I removed the meat from the ribs and used that instead. Oh and I added more filling to the dough so it would be fuller. I also did not get all 24 instead I got only 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
These were so easy to make. I did not use the filling recipe however. I purchased ready made shredded pork from the grocery store in the prepared meats section and added it to the sauce in this recipe. My 13 year old son took one bite and said "this is the best thing I have ever tasted in my whole life!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Thank you for this recipe! Also thank you ENDLESSSKY for the vegetarian suggestion as I am also a vegetarian. I added some fresh shitake mushrooms and some raw shredded potato marinated with the seitan and then stir-fried them before I chopped them up as the filling, which made it more moist and less dense on the inside. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Loved it...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States