Chinese Spicy Hot And Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Couldn't find lily bulbs either. Used dried shiitake and regular mushrooms. Added garlic while cooking pork. Then added ginger, five spice powder and red pepper flakes to soup. Oh my heck this is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made this first with just shiitake mushrooms rehydrated in white wine (just because) and loved it! Also, I always used either Bragg or San-j gluten free alternatives for the soy sauce because my son has celiac disease. Never mind he is ten and not too creative in his food likes - but hey - one can't offer a try if it's not gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Simple, fast, and easy soup! Had this for lunch today, and substituted the red wine vinegar with black vinegar, and it turned out great too, perfect for the slightly cooler weather we've been having in SG lately :) I also halved the amount of salt, and doubled the soya sauce, all-in-all, a recipe I look forward to cooking again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Teh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
great soup as written i usually leave out the egg and tofu as they don't really add much to the flavor profile all in all great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noturbone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The broth was great, but dried mushrooms always end up chewy and leathery for me. Next time I will try this with fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
great, just added hot sauce used rice vinegar/mixed mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It was simple enough, but it really didn't look or taste quite like the hot and sour soup I've had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelson Franks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I had many great compliments in it. I also added ginger to it to spice it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very good recipe, tastes just like at the Chinese restaurants. Only change I would make next time would be to leave out the sesame oil and add less cornstarch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe is much better than any hot sour soup I have had in any restaurant. I couldn't acquire wood ears or shitake mushrooms, but used canned straw mushrooms instead. I also didn't use lily buds, but wouldn't mind looking for some in the future. I shredded a piece of pork myself (not much trouble) and found the tofu already cubed in the store. The recipe was quick and tasty. The only change I would possibly make would be not adding the salt and finding a lower sodium chicken stock. The soup seemed a bit too salty. Other than that I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States