Chinese Spicy Hot And Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The broth was great, but dried mushrooms always end up chewy and leathery for me. Next time I will try this with fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
great, just added hot sauce used rice vinegar/mixed mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It was simple enough, but it really didn't look or taste quite like the hot and sour soup I've had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelson Franks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I had many great compliments in it. I also added ginger to it to spice it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very good recipe, tastes just like at the Chinese restaurants. Only change I would make next time would be to leave out the sesame oil and add less cornstarch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe is much better than any hot sour soup I have had in any restaurant. I couldn't acquire wood ears or shitake mushrooms, but used canned straw mushrooms instead. I also didn't use lily buds, but wouldn't mind looking for some in the future. I shredded a piece of pork myself (not much trouble) and found the tofu already cubed in the store. The recipe was quick and tasty. The only change I would possibly make would be not adding the salt and finding a lower sodium chicken stock. The soup seemed a bit too salty. Other than that I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The flavor of this soup is fine. We found it to neither hot, or sour. With access to an excellent Asian Market, I was able to find the wood ear, shitake, and lily buds. For someone whose never used lily buds, better instructions would be helpful. Shred them well and cut them no more than inch and half in length. We like mushrooms, so we increased the amount quite a bit. It will handle it. More vinegar would increase the sour and it could definitely use more heat. I added sriracha to my bowl, but don't recommend. It provided heat but the wrong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made the soup as instructed and was not the right thickness or flavor that I am used to from Chinese restaurants. After adding another 2TBS of low sodium soy sauce, 2TBS red wine vinegar and 1TBS of cornstarch it tasted/felt the way it should. Over all great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I loved this soup. I switched out the tofu for chicken breast and added Sriracha sauce to spice it up. The perfect cure for a cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
What a yummy recipe! I doubled the chicken stock and seasonings because it seemed heavy with vegetables as written. I also added matchstick carrots with the mushrooms and bamboo as that is how we like hot and sour soup. This recipe had great flavor and great heat! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States