Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Used this recipe for beef short ribs in my Slow-Cooker and we both thought they were delicious! I'm a new fan of hoisin sauce! Subbed tequila (sorry) for the sake cuz I didn't have any, and used red wine vinegar instead of the rice vinegar. Reduced the spices because of my husband, just a dash of 5-spice pdr and 1/4 tsp powdered ginger. Skimmed the fat off the sauce and served it with rice and salad. Next time, will make coconut rice and bok choy salad to go with it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I parboiled the ribs first and them marinated them overnight. I skipped the water in the pan part. Lined a pan with foil and cooked them at 325 for about an hour and half, basting every 1/2 hour. They were wonderful, fell of the bone. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wow! This comes really close to the stuff you get at a Chinese restaurant. I scaled this up to 10 for 5 lbs. of ribs. I didn't have sake so I used white wine and 1 tsp. of powdered ginger. I boiled the ribs for about 20 minutes first, then marinated them in some of the marinade all day, then put them on the grill basting them a bit. I then finished them in the slow cooker with the rest of the sauce for a couple of hours to get them nice and tender. If you want that deep red color, add a couple drops of red food coloring to the marinade. This stuff is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
After 40 years of cooking, I rarely (if ever) follow a recipe exactly. I did follow this one, with two tiny additions -- I added a small amount of sesame oil because I like the flavour, and a few drops of hickory liquid smoke. I used baby back ribs, marinated them for about 4 hours, and cooked them about twice as long as called for. This turned out fantastically! The flavour was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I served it to raves from picky eaters. Next time, I'll probably make this the day ahead, and marinate overnight to really soak the marinade into the ribs. Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
this has become a favorite way of mine to do country ribs in the crockpot....I turn it on for 6 hours and when I come back they are just falling apart...I have also used the meat inside of pie crust to make hot pockets for lunch....it is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Even without the five spice powder (didn't have any on hand) these ribs were amazing. I absolutely love cooking with hoisin sauce so I was very excited to find this recipe. I always simmer my ribs first and then marinate. They were tender and delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I am SO, SO, SO glad I tried this recipe! These ribs were EXCELLENT and I will make them again, and again , and again! I let them marinate for 5 hours and simply baked them in the oven. I didn't bother messing around with broiler pans or oven grates. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Big hit at dinner party! I doubled recipe for 8 pork chops and doubled again for 16 chicken thighs. Cooked 30 minutes covered and then 30 minutes uncovered. Boiled and reduced leftover marinade and basted during last 30 minutes. Fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
i used babyback ribs, the sauce was better then the chinese takeout by far!! Will def make this again, GREAT recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
My asian boyfriend said these were pretty darn close to perfect! I put them in a crockpot for ~4 hours and the meat was falling off the bone. If you want to do the crockpot method, I recommend to add more sauce, to cover the meat completely, but make sure to leave some extra room for the juices from the meat to fill the rest of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States