Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Used this recipe for beef short ribs in my Slow-Cooker and we both thought they were delicious! I'm a new fan of hoisin sauce! Subbed tequila (sorry) for the sake cuz I didn't have any, and used red wine vinegar instead of the rice vinegar. Reduced the spices because of my husband, just a dash of 5-spice pdr and 1/4 tsp powdered ginger. Skimmed the fat off the sauce and served it with rice and salad. Next time, will make coconut rice and bok choy salad to go with it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Even without the five spice powder (didn't have any on hand) these ribs were amazing. I absolutely love cooking with hoisin sauce so I was very excited to find this recipe. I always simmer my ribs first and then marinate. They were tender and delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Very good. Better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This recipe was great for bargeque. I used thin pork chops, marinated them for about a half hour and grilled them. They were sweet and flavorful. I didn't have five spice powder so I used five spice sauce instead. It was the exact recipe I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
After 40 years of cooking, I rarely (if ever) follow a recipe exactly. I did follow this one, with two tiny additions -- I added a small amount of sesame oil because I like the flavour, and a few drops of hickory liquid smoke. I used baby back ribs, marinated them for about 4 hours, and cooked them about twice as long as called for. This turned out fantastically! The flavour was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I served it to raves from picky eaters. Next time, I'll probably make this the day ahead, and marinate overnight to really soak the marinade into the ribs. Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I parboiled the ribs first and them marinated them overnight. I skipped the water in the pan part. Lined a pan with foil and cooked them at 325 for about an hour and half, basting every 1/2 hour. They were wonderful, fell of the bone. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I am SO, SO, SO glad I tried this recipe! These ribs were EXCELLENT and I will make them again, and again , and again! I let them marinate for 5 hours and simply baked them in the oven. I didn't bother messing around with broiler pans or oven grates. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very tasty - I tripled the sauce. Had to cook about 60 minutes total. Nice sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Big hit at dinner party! I doubled recipe for 8 pork chops and doubled again for 16 chicken thighs. Cooked 30 minutes covered and then 30 minutes uncovered. Boiled and reduced leftover marinade and basted during last 30 minutes. Fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Not good. The flavor was strange, and the meat was really tough. Maybe I should have boiled the ribs before marinating. We ended up throwing these away. On another note, I did triple the marinade to make sure I would have enough to baste during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States