Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow... Unbelievably good. I marinated the ribs overnight (I made 'em with ground ginger as that's what I had on hand), and liberally basted the ribs every ten minutes. I definitely recommend broiling them - they crisp up beautifully. The meat was falling off the bone. Phenomenal. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
As good as any British takeaway ribs if not better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Wow!! I doubled the receipe,and did a 3lb rack of Country Style spare ribs in the crock pot on low for 6 hrs. they were delicious!! It's the first time I used hoisin sauce,and am now a huge fan. I didn't have any sake,or lemon juice,and I used powdered ginger instead of fresh. It is so simple to make,and it's incredibly Delicious:) This is definatly my new crockpot favorite:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosebud1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
i used babyback ribs, the sauce was better then the chinese takeout by far!! Will def make this again, GREAT recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
this has become a favorite way of mine to do country ribs in the crockpot....I turn it on for 6 hours and when I come back they are just falling apart...I have also used the meat inside of pie crust to make hot pockets for lunch....it is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I often buy the inexpensive pork bones you can find in the pork section to make soup base, so I thought... why not try? Trimmed off the some of the fat and followed the recipe (minus the Chinese five-spice)... the small portion of ribs were wonderful!! Even better the next day, sliced and served cold on top of a hot bowl of ramen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Not good. The flavor was strange, and the meat was really tough. Maybe I should have boiled the ribs before marinating. We ended up throwing these away. On another note, I did triple the marinade to make sure I would have enough to baste during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Big hit at dinner party! I doubled recipe for 8 pork chops and doubled again for 16 chicken thighs. Cooked 30 minutes covered and then 30 minutes uncovered. Boiled and reduced leftover marinade and basted during last 30 minutes. Fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very tasty - I tripled the sauce. Had to cook about 60 minutes total. Nice sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I am SO, SO, SO glad I tried this recipe! These ribs were EXCELLENT and I will make them again, and again , and again! I let them marinate for 5 hours and simply baked them in the oven. I didn't bother messing around with broiler pans or oven grates. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States